Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Will be buying an F250 very soon....

1K views 13 replies 9 participants last post by  spoilers4me 
#1 ·
Hello all. I will be buying a used F250 with a 6.0 Probably a 2005 - 06 model. I have read reveiws and opinions about the 6.0 motor. Just wondering if anyone could give me some advice on what to look for when checking out the truck. I have never owned a diesel truck, although i drive one for a living 6 days a week. Just looking for something that will tow my 6500 pound camper trailer with ease. Thank you in advance and i look forward to visiting here.
Have A Great Day!

Tracy:icon_ford:

#2 ·
Tracy,
First off welcome to the Org.... best bet is to get the Vin number and get an Oasis report... it will tell you everything that has ever been done to it at a ford dealership.... that way you can see if it was having problems...

do the usual like check for oil leaks, engine compartment ect.

good luck... let us know if you have any questions... FYI but if you become a premium member on here you get free oasis reports

-Raul

#4 ·
here you go

Some 6.0L weak points (things to check):

look for signs of coolant degas bottle overfly (dry white residue or no level in degas bottle).

Ball joints go out at 40k-70k miles.

Lots of idling can cause EGR problems. I look at the hours on the engine (if it has this monitored) and divide the miles by the hours (is it below 30? If so, may have had lots of idling). EGR valves seem to plug quickly - maybe negotiate a new EGR valve.

Try to find out about the routine maintenance:
Filter change intervals on time? What kind of oil (CI4+ or CJ4 - one of these is required)?
OEM filters? Look at them and see what kind they are. Aftermarket filters can cause MAJOR problems.

Any exhaust problems visible (ie lots of white or blue smoke)? White smoke may mean and EGR cooler leak.

Fluid leaks (SPECIFICALLY OIL LEAKS - 6.0L are prone to many of these from many possible places!!)