sct sf3 flash device - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2008, 03:05 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
sct sf3 flash device

Hello,

I just purchased a new SCT SF3 3015 Flash Device for my 2007 F250 6.0
SCT is closed untill after January 5th and I need some help. The instructions that came with it say that it needs the firmware and tune version updated before I can tune with it, but I cannot get my computer to recognize it. I have installed the updater software, I have also tried to install the drivers with no success. I was wondering If anyone else has one of these devices? If so could they tell me if the firmware version and the tune version are correct. My firmware version is 1.2.106.0 and my tuner software is 1.2.1, which looks to be a newer version than is showing up on the SCT website. On their website the firmware version is 1.121.06 and the software is 1.1.0.
I am a novice at this tuning stuff and need some help. Thanks to anyone who can help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-01-2009, 05:48 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fort Washington, Montgomery County, PA
Posts: 849
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to zippy557
From what it has on the SCT site i would say that it is updated, any reason why you went with the SF3 and canned tunes over the X3 and custom tunning??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-01-2009, 06:19 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oaks PA
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think the SF3 and the X3 are now the same? I think thats what I remember reading when I was trying to get mine to work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-01-2009, 06:34 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Everywhere and Nowhere
Posts: 3,339
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 67ModStang Send a message via Yahoo to 67ModStang
The SF3 holds the canned tunes and 3 custom tunes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-01-2009, 06:41 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Everywhere and Nowhere
Posts: 3,339
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 67ModStang Send a message via Yahoo to 67ModStang
If you need help getting the drivers installed I've got instructions on how to do it manually in this thread: SCT X3
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-01-2009, 06:49 AM
lifetime member
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: jacksonville, florida
Posts: 1,642
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
subscribed
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-01-2009, 06:55 AM
My 6OH Hates Me


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nexus of the Universe
Posts: 24,702
Thanks: 8
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGB7501 View Post
Hello,

I just purchased a new SCT SF3 3015 Flash Device for my 2007 F250 6.0
SCT is closed untill after January 5th and I need some help. The instructions that came with it say that it needs the firmware and tune version updated before I can tune with it, but I cannot get my computer to recognize it. I have installed the updater software, I have also tried to install the drivers with no success. I was wondering If anyone else has one of these devices? If so could they tell me if the firmware version and the tune version are correct. My firmware version is 1.2.106.0 and my tuner software is 1.2.1, which looks to be a newer version than is showing up on the SCT website. On their website the firmware version is 1.121.06 and the software is 1.1.0.
I am a novice at this tuning stuff and need some help. Thanks to anyone who can help.
Does your computer have XP or Vista?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-01-2009, 07:08 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks to everyone for the info.

I kept messing with it last night finally did a system restore on my computer to an earlier date. Then had to install Framework.net 2.0 on my pc. After that installed the updater software and both the Firmware version 1.2.106.0 and the tuner software version 1.1.0. Although I believe there is a mistake on the SCT website about the firmware version, they show it should be 1.121.06 but when you click on the download file you get 1.2.106.0. I also got a new hi speed cable and plugged it into a different usb port. Anyway I finally got it updated and tuned the truck with the street tune that came with it. I did not do any of the end user adjustments, but WOW! what an improvement over stock. I also have installed an AFE stage 2 intake and AFE turbo back exaust. Could anyone recomend what user adjustments maybe I should play with. My truck is a daily driver back and forth to work and I pull my bumper pull camper on the weekends sometimes. Thanks again for everyones input.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors