Building a 6.0 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2008, 09:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Building a 6.0

We can all agree that the 6.0 isn't the best PSD but it has the potential to be a great PSD with some modifications. But what modifications will need to be done to make them have same reputation as a 7.3? I'm told that the bottom end is pretty strong so no worry's there but what about the top end? So far I can think of studs and complete EGR delete. But what about turbo and injectors? The stock turbo gets gumbed up and requires cleaning so would an Aurora 2000 or maybe a VGT-SS fix this problem? What about injectors? I have no knowledge on that. Also too something needs to be done with the oil cooler. Reason I'm bringing this up is because my brothers 03 6.0 is sick and while I was at Ford I saw a long block 7.3 sitting in the shop and after comparing it to a 6.0 there is less chit on the 7.3. And thats were I think the 6.0 problems start with all of the extra chit on the motor. I didn't even compare the 7.3 to the 6.4. Theres just to much chit on the 6.4.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-16-2008, 09:31 PM
Blowin Smoke

Being that the factory turbo on the 6.0L is awesome, I wouldn't worry about upgrading it unless your going for crazy power and have plenty of $$$. The problem with the turbos getting gummed up would go away once you delete the EGR system. I've also heard from a Ford Tech that the majority of blown head gasket claims are actually blown EGR coolers that people mis-diagnose. The injectors seem to all have a problem with # 3, 5, and 7, but are easy to replace and are then good for another 150k miles. All-in-all I'm well pleases with my 6.0 compared to my 7.3L now that it's chipped, straight piped, and the EGR is deleted.