Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

First 6.0

3K views 24 replies 10 participants last post by  HunkerJunker 
#1 ·
Hello all im new to the site and im also new to the diesel world. i just bought a 04 f250 6.0 all stock beside intake i believe i was wondering what should be some of the first things to get done to the truck any input would be great:)

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Nice truck and welcome to the org. Definitely want a monitor (edge insights are great). Make sure your deltas are good. Basic maintenance is the best thing you can do to these motors.

#5 ·
Everyone here will tell you to monitor your engine oil temp and coolant temp deltas, one of the most talked about precautions on this site. The deltas will tell you the health of your oil cooler. Oil cooler, egr cooler, and head gaskets are the most common failure on these trucks and you can save yourself a lot of time and money simply by monitoring the temps.

#7 ·
I'm personally a fan of the edge insight products, you can monitor up to 8 parameters with the cs and I think 10 or 12 with the cts and you can get the add ins to monitor egt's. But what's nice is you can also read and clear dtc's with this device and it's all through the obd2 port. At the very least monitor you engine oil temps and engine coolant temp differentials.

#8 ·
Next thing after you are monitoring your truck is to consider doing a thorough coolant flush if you are still running Ford gold or the green coolant. Want to invest in some Cat EC-1 rated coolant. Many different brands to choose from. Make sure is concentrated and not 50/50 pre-mix.

Truck looks great. Mine is exactly like yours, only red. Lol welcome to the org.
Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

#9 ·