stock gauges? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2008, 05:43 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fort Washington, Montgomery County, PA
Posts: 848
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to zippy557
stock gauges?

I have an 07 and was wondering how accurate the stock trans and boost gauges are? Im looking into gauges and the pod to buy and was wondering if i needed to get new trans and boost gauges or if the stock were sufficient... any info would help, thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-11-2008, 05:44 PM
a truck
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 13,142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would get new ones they will be much more accurate. just my .02
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-11-2008, 05:45 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,276
Thanks: 23
Thanked 20 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
Quote:
Originally Posted by zippy557 View Post
I have an 07 and was wondering how accurate the stock trans and boost gauges are? Im looking into gauges and the pod to buy and was wondering if i needed to get new trans and boost gauges or if the stock were sufficient... any info would help, thanks
yes you do need to get aftermarket..... the stock trans gauge is a joke... the boost is pretty accurate but once you install a boost fooler so you dont get a overboost code it will no longer be accurate... while your at it get a pyro gauge too....

prices start at around 300 bucks for autometers.... its a great investment so that you can accurately monitor what your truck is doing

-Raul
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-11-2008, 05:46 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hermitage, TN
Posts: 324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to harleyultra1969
Not sure how accurate the boost gauge is, but heard the trans temp gauge is basically no more than just an idiot light.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-11-2008, 05:46 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Riegel, Ohio
Posts: 5,230
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My buddies stock trans temp gauge was way off from the aftermarket one. The boost gauge was right on the stock one though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-11-2008, 05:52 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fort Washington, Montgomery County, PA
Posts: 848
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to zippy557
Well those were some quick responses, thanks a lot for that. ... Raul i'll be getting the sct and gauge combo from you soon but i im going to wait and see when the touch screen comes out and maybe go with that (unless it's a little to over priced)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-11-2008, 05:54 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,276
Thanks: 23
Thanked 20 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
Quote:
Originally Posted by zippy557 View Post
Well those were some quick responses, thanks a lot for that. ... Raul i'll be getting the sct and gauge combo from you soon but i im going to wait and see when the touch screen comes out and maybe go with that (unless it's a little to over priced)
im sure it will be pretty cool and expensive.. but i have never been a fan of the all in 1 unites.. put it this way.. if the screen somehow broke you would lose both the tuner and the gauges...

plus it will be reading your trans temp from the electronic sensor the stocker gets it from which is not accurate....

my vote is still for analog gauges and the X3....

heck ill prob make more selling you the livewire or the new touchscreen... but i recommend the other setup...

-Raul
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-11-2008, 06:01 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fort Washington, Montgomery County, PA
Posts: 848
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to zippy557
very true, i'm still going to get the gauges and pod (egt boost and trans) either way i got x3 or touchscreen but we'll see how it plays out. thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors