recon tail lights install??? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-15-2008, 03:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 893
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
recon tail lights install???

Ok guys, so I got my Recon smoked tail lights in the mail today, and am in the garage right now. Got the old ones out and got ready to put in the new ones, but since the new ones are LED, the top bulb doesn't go into the hole like the factory ones, there is a plug on the Recon light that doesn't match up with anything from the factory. Has anybody else done these?? What did you have to do?? Maybe I am just being dumb and missing something very easy??? I am hoping that I don't have to go and buy a different connector now since it didn't say that anywhere on Recons site...Help please guys... Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-15-2008, 03:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 893
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sorry, it is an 05 F250
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-15-2008, 03:49 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did you buy them from Raul? Give him a call or PM him, I'm sure he'll help you out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-15-2008, 04:04 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,362
Thanks: 23
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
nope he didnt buy them from me :p


take out your bulb from the factory harness... that part plugs into the Recon one.... its actually pretty simple....

-Raul
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-15-2008, 04:06 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,239
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
so $300 for the recon tails and you still have to use the stock bulbs??? what a rip off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-15-2008, 04:08 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Round Rock, Tx
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rwalker View Post
so $300 for the recon tails and you still have to use the stock bulbs??? what a rip off.
dont keep the stock bulb. You plug the recon plug into the bulb housing in the stock taillight
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-15-2008, 04:17 PM
COME ON...ONE TIME!!


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 16,530
Thanks: 53
Thanked 47 Times in 46 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yep, we did it on Mikes(Mudrunnignpig) truck. You have to remove the bulbs and use the stock harnesses to plug into the recon Harnesses. Very easy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-15-2008, 04:18 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,362
Thanks: 23
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rwalker View Post
so $300 for the recon tails and you still have to use the stock bulbs??? what a rip off.
lol nope..... take a look at what people posted above....

-Raul
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-15-2008, 04:24 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 893
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
YES PEOPLE...I am an idiot About 2 seconds after I posted the question, I looked again and figured out that all I do is plug the new plug into where the old bulb was... Sorry Raul, I bought them directly from Recon... I guess I will have to pay more attention to the site vendors from now on... My bad guys...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors