Speedo/ABS light - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2008, 06:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,383
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Speedo/ABS light

So....A while ago I asked about why the needle would bounce around and the ABS light would be on. The answer seemed to be the speed sensor on the rear diff.

I replaced that to no avail. I know throwing parts is dumb, but it was only 22 bucks and I was at the dealer anyways.

Now, the speedo doesn't register all the time (sits on the 'floor' and I'm really doing 40.)

Where do I turn?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-10-2008, 06:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,543
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine did that but my od light flashed to and it was the vss in rear dif.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-11-2008, 03:24 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,383
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
any other thoughts on this mess?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-11-2008, 05:02 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bolton
Posts: 786
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Theres a way you can use the odometer to check incoming signals to the instrument cluster. I can't remember for sure but you have to hold the odometer button and start it while holding. And hold for another 3 secs or something.

One of the high-idle tutorials has a tutorial on the same website. Its the tutorial that at the end, theres a picture of the high idling dash, and the odom says 1200. Then bellow the pic it explains how to get the rpm to show on the odo.

This way you should be able to check the incoming signal to the dash, if it seems right the dash may have a problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-11-2008, 06:21 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,383
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
interesting, I'll have to look for that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-11-2008, 06:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
there are two more speed sensors
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-12-2008, 12:11 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 1,039
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
This is what AVRO is referring to. Toward bottom under odometer trick. High Idle Mod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-12-2008, 04:44 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,547
Thanks: 8
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Odometer trick - some variations:

There seems to be a slight difference in the way to enter based on model year. This works for my 2006.

With the key OFF, press & hold the Trip/Reset button (Press Setup and Reset buttons at the same time on KR and Lariat editions). While holding the button(s) in, turn the key to the ON position (but do not start it yet). When the word 'TEST' comes up, release the button(s) and start the engine. By pressing the Trip/Reset button (reset button for the KR and Lariats) you can cycle through all the things that can be displayed.

According to the older posts (on older models), follow the same procedure but holding the odometer/trip button. Instead of the word "TEST" coming on the word "GAUGE" comes on, the gauges will swing to full scale then back. Release the button at that time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-12-2008, 07:08 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bolton
Posts: 786
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
FYI if you do something wrong and the odo goes black you can get out of it by trying agian. Did that. lol

EnG should be the winner
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-12-2008, 02:55 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Idaho Falls Idaho
Posts: 142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
there is a speedo sensor in the tranny as well. I replaced both sensors to no avail. Ended up being a short in the wiring harness about a foot from the rear-end. You could just have a broken wire somewhere.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors