2005 and up dash swap on a 99-04 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2008, 05:03 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thumbs up 2005 and up dash swap on a 99-04

I was just wondering if anyone else out there has done this swap yet? I got it done a few weekends ago and it went much easier then I thought, I pulled my old dash right off (the plastic only, not the frame) and the 2005+ dash swapped right in, everything lined up perfectly. The only things I had to do were lengthen the power pedal wires to relocate it to the spot on the 05 and newer trucks, even my manual a/c unit mounted up the exact same way as the 05+ climate control unit. I even wired up the factory upfitters and factory brake controller to work.

I should note that i did have a complete 05+ dash at my disposal that I picked up for super cheap so this would probably not be economical if you had to buy all the parts straight from Ford Just wanted to let everyone know it was doable and share the info.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-14-2008, 05:04 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hadley, Michigan/Lima, Ohio
Posts: 3,067
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to thesmokinstroke02
post some pics up man
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-14-2008, 05:22 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: west covina, CA
Posts: 1,930
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
pics pics pics
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-14-2008, 05:24 PM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,294
Thanks: 122
Thanked 123 Times in 109 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoleshotzPerf View Post
I was just wondering if anyone else out there has done this swap yet? I got it done a few weekends ago and it went much easier then I thought, I pulled my old dash right off (the plastic only, not the frame) and the 2005+ dash swapped right in, everything lined up perfectly. The only things I had to do were lengthen the power pedal wires to relocate it to the spot on the 05 and newer trucks, even my manual a/c unit mounted up the exact same way as the 05+ climate control unit. I even wired up the factory upfitters and factory brake controller to work.

I should note that i did have a complete 05+ dash at my disposal that I picked up for super cheap so this would probably not be economical if you had to buy all the parts straight from Ford Just wanted to let everyone know it was doable and share the info.
My question is does everything work? The Brake controller and message center will not properly work without the 05 up PCM
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-14-2008, 05:37 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
My question is does everything work? The Brake controller and message center will not properly work without the 05 up PCM
I had to take somewhat of a shortcut to get the brake controller to work, it was the easiest solution I could find without really getting into heavy wiring / electrical work.

I had both pigtails for the factory brake controller, I simply spliced the brake controller wiring pigtail into the brake controller plug in my truck and then I only used 2 wires on the other pigtail coming off the factory controller, one was a ground and the other was the power wire which I hooked up to one of the upfitter switches so I could just turn it on and off as needed. Although, I do not even have a trailer with brakes yet, I did test it briefly on a buddies trailer and it works fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-14-2008, 05:46 PM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,294
Thanks: 122
Thanked 123 Times in 109 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Thats awesome How about the message center in the dash?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-14-2008, 05:47 PM
Slacker



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 17,188
Thanks: 13
Thanked 57 Times in 45 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Great post! Glad to hear you got it done and that it works great.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-14-2008, 05:49 PM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,294
Thanks: 122
Thanked 123 Times in 109 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Oh i forgot. We need pics of this
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-14-2008, 05:59 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Thats awesome How about the message center in the dash?
I am still using the 04 gauge cluster, that's the only thing I did not swap because the dash I bought did not have one and I figured the time/cost involved would outweigh the benefits. Ford actually makes a trim piece that goes in place of the message center buttons which I guess is made for the less equipped 05 + models that do not have the message center.

I should also note that anyone who tries this with a factory 99-04 radio will need a 05 + or aftermarket radio as the size is a little off. I have a clarion unit so I didn't need to deal with that.

I'll try to get some pictures up tomorrow after I clean the truck up. There is a big construction area right by my house and after all the rain up here last night, I just couldn't resist playing around in the mud
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-14-2008, 06:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 467
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
can you post up pics for wiring the trailer brake controller? I would really liek to ad the 05 dash and that. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors