vgt question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-25-2008, 05:35 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Casey, Illinois
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
vgt question

if i decide to unplug my vgt do i need to do it with the truck off or on or does it matter?* i would like to splice into the wiring to put a switch in the cab so i could turn it off and on when i please.** thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-26-2008, 08:27 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Casey, Illinois
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
all opinions are appricated please thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-26-2008, 08:28 AM
one day at a time

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tipton, Iowa
Posts: 9,446
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't think it will matter if its running or not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-26-2008, 09:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,542
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
and unplugging this helps out why?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-26-2008, 09:13 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Shawnee, OK
Posts: 4,938
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBakerFX4 View Post
and unplugging this helps out why?
I dont think will help anything, It will sound different, and will probably roal a lot of coal, but will run like sh!t
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-26-2008, 10:30 AM
Unapologetically American


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 19,781
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Probably to use is turbo as a 'jake brake', by opening the vanes when the go pedal isn't pressed. I have that in my aggresive tow tune from IDP, and it really works good when decending hills with a load.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-26-2008, 10:40 AM
one day at a time

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tipton, Iowa
Posts: 9,446
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Actually the reason some people put them on a switch or unplug them is they want to be able to roll coal for show. Your truck will run like chit when you unplug the vgt. Also if you do it much you run the risk of overboosting the charger under normal driving conditions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-26-2008, 08:49 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pasadena/Houston Tx.
Posts: 257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The famous "smoke switch."

YouTube - smoke switch proof
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-27-2008, 04:14 AM
Unapologetically American


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 19,781
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
I don't see the point

It doesn't make you go any faster, and just pisses the tree huggers off, and intrigues them to make more emission restrictive laws. My truck doesn't blow any smoke, and will still smoke most things on the road
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-27-2008, 04:45 AM
ADMIN AND TECH


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: winston salem north carolina
Posts: 9,242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2006PSDSD View Post
I don't see the point

It doesn't make you go any faster, and just pisses the tree huggers off, and intrigues them to make more emission restrictive laws. My truck doesn't blow any smoke, and will still smoke most things on the road
ill say ill agree with ya , i can see about the jake brake deal maybe , with it in the chp and tuned that way , to just wire it to a switch has to make it run like crap, check engine lights and i can see a overboost concern , but to each his own i guess
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors