size change - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 08-25-2008, 03:40 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
custom4584's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
size change

Just went from a 31" tire to a 34" tire. I'm sure my speedo is off, how do i recalibrate that and do i need to change the shift points of the tranny. Thanks. 03 6.0 auto.
custom4584 is offline  
post #2 of 6 Old 08-25-2008, 05:59 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by custom4584 View Post
Just went from a 31" tire to a 34" tire. I'm sure my speedo is off, how do i recalibrate that and do i need to change the shift points of the tranny. Thanks. 03 6.0 auto.
I used a superlift truspeed. Works great. If you are going to add a programmer some claim to be able to recalibrate the speedometer. I tried a Edge because they claimed it would work. I even sent it back to the factory for an upgrade but it still had no effect on the speedometer. Before you do anything get or borrow a gps to see if it's off enough to bother with.
bigd4x4 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-27-2008, 05:10 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
custom4584's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigd4x4 View Post
I used a superlift truspeed. Works great. If you are going to add a programmer some claim to be able to recalibrate the speedometer. I tried a Edge because they claimed it would work. I even sent it back to the factory for an upgrade but it still had no effect on the speedometer. Before you do anything get or borrow a gps to see if it's off enough to bother with.
Its off about 6mph at 70. gets worse as you go faster. would the dealer be able to re calibrate it? I dont have a programmer.
custom4584 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-27-2008, 05:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
iLoveSoccrMoms15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by custom4584 View Post
Its off about 6mph at 70. gets worse as you go faster. would the dealer be able to re calibrate it? I dont have a programmer.
Yeah, the dealer should be able to take care of that up to a 35" tire. They did mine for free in about 3 minutes with their whatcha-ma-widget. Works great!


Sergio

--
Sergio Castillejo
OS3/E-4
Sector Lake Michigan (Milwaukee, WI)
United States Coast Guard




'05 F350 Dually Lariat - 2WD - 2" Leveling Kit - Studded - Deleted - Coolant Bypass - Airaid Intake - 4" Straight Piped - HID Lows and Fogs (5000K) - Red LED Interior Bulbs - Loads of Running Lights - 15% Tint - Pioneer FHX700BT - ASUS Tablet Mount - Taurus 1911 .45 ACP
iLoveSoccrMoms15 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-27-2008, 05:25 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fort Washakie, Wyoming
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I took my 2000 Excursion to a dealership, and they charged me 70.00 to change the computer settings. I put a 305/70 x 16 on it and the speedo was off by about 9%. They were able to get it changed, and the speedo reads pretty close to right. I have yet to get my truck done, it has 315/75 x 16's on it.
wyldnative is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-27-2008, 05:49 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
custom4584's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Will they slightly change shift points too? Or just the speedo?
custom4584 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome