New here with a few ? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2008, 08:57 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New here with a few ?

Well this is not my first post but I wanted to say thanks for all the valuable information that this forum offers. I am kind of new to the whole diesel thing and have learned one hell of a lot over the last few weeks.

Now here is my question. I have a 2006 F350 crew cab short bed 4x4 with the stock 20's mounted up with BFG All-terrains. I have had the truck for about 1 month and love it but my millage has not as good as I remember getting in my dad's 04. I have been keeping the boost under 10 and I have been keeping the revs at around 1500. I have been running diesel kleen the gray bottle. I got a oil change, changed both fuel filters, clean air filter, put nitrogen in the tires, run the tires at 80psi and am only getting about 14.5 mpg. Is this to be expected I seem to remember getting closer to 17 with my dads truck but he did not have 20's. Is 14.5mpg expected or does that seem low? most of this driving has been city driving. The truck has about 28,000 miles on it.

Sorry for the long post but what aftermarket things should I add to the truck to improve the fuel millage. I have read intake, exhaust, and tuner are what I should do. If this is my best option what brands or models are best? This truck is used for hauling stuff around my farm and hauling a large camper. I am happy with the power but would like a little more economy.

Attached Thumbnails
New here with a few ?-img_5713.jpg   New here with a few ?-img_5712.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-26-2008, 09:04 AM
International Harvester