Stuck On 0 miles to Empty - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2008, 12:11 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jarrettsville, MD
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Stuck On 0 miles to Empty

I noticed today that my miles to empty indicator was acting funny. It read 99 miles to empty this morning and then after traveling 17 miles it was down to 63. Byt the time I had driven less than 40 miles it was down to 0. I filled the tank and the gauge reads full but the miles to empty will not reset.

Has anybody else experienced this and what is the fix? I'm thinking about removing the battery cables to reset everything but I doubt that's the answer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-05-2008, 12:19 PM
ADMIN AND TECH


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: winston salem north carolina
Posts: 9,242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
it could be the readout itself going out , there not accurate anyway, or it could be that guythat worked on the truck last screwed something up,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-05-2008, 12:21 PM
DKR DKR is offline
<--Pro Cooler Racer
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 8,216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to DKR
Oh geez!

Seriously though, Matt, I've haven't heard of that problem yet. Goin to guess and say the computer? Anything else of the display acting funny?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-05-2008, 12:23 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jarrettsville, MD
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well that guy did leave the small ground wire on the firewall off! I just found that today but the bolt for it was actually laying there and it's all good now.

So what am I in for? Is the display expensive to replace? I sure don't want to be driving around with the low fuel buzzer going off and needing to be reset every 10 miles.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-05-2008, 12:31 PM
DKR DKR is offline
<--Pro Cooler Racer
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 8,216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to DKR
The low fuel chimes going? Is your fuel gauge showing full?

Not trying to sound stupid, just checking.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-05-2008, 12:36 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jarrettsville, MD
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fuel gauge shows full and everything else works fine. It just started acting stupid today with the miles clicking off like 3 to every one that I travel. The engine hours, miles and trip meter still work fine.

I'm going to try the battery cables in a few minutes to see what happens.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-05-2008, 01:07 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,781
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via ICQ to Lord Tauk Send a message via AIM to Lord Tauk
The GW put a spell on Big Red as it left Deere territory this morning.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-05-2008, 01:10 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jarrettsville, MD
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Pulled the battery cables and it seems fine now. I guess the computer just needed to reset.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-05-2008, 02:08 PM
DKR DKR is offline
<--Pro Cooler Racer
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 8,216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to DKR
Cool, glad to hear ya got it!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-05-2008, 02:10 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jarrettsville, MD
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The only thing I can figure it must be like the climate control. It will also blank out once in a while and needs a hard reset. I sure hope it's not a sign that big red has electrical gremlins!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors