Fuel gauge inaccurate - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 03-04-2008, 05:40 PM Thread Starter
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 142 Times in 134 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Fuel gauge inaccurate

Has anyone had a problem with the fuel gauge not reading accurate? I filled my truck up Sunday and had drove it 27 miles. I got in the truck this morning and it showed I only had 3/4 of a tank. I left drove about 12 miles, came back home and let it sit. Got ready to leave a little while ago and it shows full. I park the truck in the same spot every day. Anybody have any ideas? Also, what is the high idle mod I have been seeing people post? I thought you had to have a chip that would allow you to do that.

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #2 of 11 Old 03-04-2008, 05:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
DoubleDpsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
use some of the chevron with techron additive and it might help free up the sending unit. As for the high idle mod, either use the search feature or search "high idle mod" on google.

2003 centennial edition f250 4x4 ccsb auto w/blackwater long block w/arp's, 4" exhaust, airaid intake, ODawg's manifold, itp's reg return, sap modified solenoid, DC power 185amp alt, motorcraft 850cca, Warn Hubs, RS 55w 6k hid's, harley headlights, bpd 58v 6 phase, bpd water pump, dieselsite coolant filter, elc coolant, php gryphon, Xcal2 w/unlimited tow, new hfcm, glowshift fuel psi gauge, icon level kit, 20" kmc hoss, 305/55 terra grapplers TOTALED
DoubleDpsd is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 03-04-2008, 05:43 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You either have a sending unit failing....or you have sulpher contamination in it...

go to chevron....get the "techron" fuel attitive.... run it for a couple tanks....see if that helps (thats actually a ford approved procedure)

if that doesnt work its probably gonna need a sending unit..
mschn99 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 03-04-2008, 05:44 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by darsey715 View Post
use some of the chevron with techron additive and it might help free up the sending unit. As for the high idle mod, either use the search feature or search "high idle mod" on google.
wow...the young jedi has been studying!!!!
mschn99 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 03-04-2008, 05:47 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
DoubleDpsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
no, I just ask you roughly 56 questions everytime we hang out.

2003 centennial edition f250 4x4 ccsb auto w/blackwater long block w/arp's, 4" exhaust, airaid intake, ODawg's manifold, itp's reg return, sap modified solenoid, DC power 185amp alt, motorcraft 850cca, Warn Hubs, RS 55w 6k hid's, harley headlights, bpd 58v 6 phase, bpd water pump, dieselsite coolant filter, elc coolant, php gryphon, Xcal2 w/unlimited tow, new hfcm, glowshift fuel psi gauge, icon level kit, 20" kmc hoss, 305/55 terra grapplers TOTALED
DoubleDpsd is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 03-04-2008, 05:51 PM Thread Starter
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 142 Times in 134 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Appreciate the info. I will get some additive tomorrow and try it.

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 03-05-2008, 02:13 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
In our E450 we have the opposite situation; the gauge indicates full for about 200 miles then starts to drop. One of the benefits of the 55 gallon ( really love the 800 mile range) tank is that it doesn't matter much. It still would be nice to have an accurate gauge; two dealers say the same thing "its normal".
robert smith is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 03-05-2008, 05:41 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah robert my truck is the same, its a LB, and it will go about 160 miles before it even shows it moves, then at about 260 its at half, then somewhere around 480 its empty, wtf!
dayusex is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 03-05-2008, 02:24 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
dayusex, were you told that it is normal also?
robert smith is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 03-05-2008, 05:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah dealership didnt do jack,wish there was a more reliable one
dayusex is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome