Short trips bad for diesel engine ???? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2008, 09:37 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Short trips bad for diesel engine ????

OK - I'm in my first diesel ( 2007 F250 ). I've always wanted a diesel but never really had the guts to step up to the plate. Now that I have, I've had reoccuring conversations with people about how my driving ( I'm a landscaper so much of my driving is city and for short trips less than 10 miles ) is bad for a diesel engine. I'm being told that diesel engines are designed to be run mainly highway and towing and not to be used for primarily city type driving. My argument has always been if diesels are designed for open road driving only, then why do other manufacturers make cars with diesel engines ( VW always comes to mind ) that are going to be used primarily as grocery getters and see primarily city miles. Any thoughts or input would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-02-2008, 09:42 PM
KVFD

Send a message via MSN to redstroker_2002
just the extra money it takes to own a diesel is one thing! it takes twice the oil in a oil change and up keep is lots more expensive. i hate discouraging a diesel owner but if u dont pull or go on good trips and just are in the city i dont see y u need it. little overkill if u ask me but maybe u do more things than what i am thinking of. just my two pennies
Old 01-02-2008, 09:48 PM
cj41foleyisathief

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Just don't hammer the hell out of it on short trips. The turbo does not like to shut down when it's glowing red.
Old 01-02-2008, 09:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict