Injectors gone bad.... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 12-11-2007, 03:26 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dmbrichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Injectors gone bad....

Another question for everybody here... A few weeks ago I noticed that my truck was acting a little weird while driving down the highway, usually when going a constant 65-70 mph. It feels like it loses power for a split second and then regains power, almost making a SLIGHT chugging feeling. I thought it might have to do with the new tunes that I got from DJ's right before I started noticing the problem and was planning on switching from the street tune to the eco tune to see if the problem persisted. I have not had a chance to switch the tunes yet, but I just talked to a buddy of mine who has an 06 6.0 with the same amount of miles as mine (47,000) and he had his truck in for the same kind of problem and they told him that his injectors were bad. I guess my question is, are my injectors going bad in my truck as well??? I do have the SCT livewire with DJ's tunes like I said, and actually just had my truck in a week or so ago for what I was told was leaky head gaskets which turned out to be just a leaky oil filter. But I did take my SCT out for about 3 days before I took the truck in and cycled the keys as many times as possible and the dealer never discovered my tuner. I am just worried that if it is a major problem like the injectors that they may be able to detect the tuner???? I know this is really long but any help would be greatly appreciated....Thanks a lot guys...
dmbrichie is offline  
post #2 of 6 Old 12-11-2007, 03:39 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: las vegas
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
if you have faulty injectors that is no reason for them to suspect your tuner all of a sudden.

first thing i would do is flash the truck back to stock and drive it around for a few days and see if the problem goes away. also make sure you warm the truck up well before driving , it is cold out and injectors act weird when cold anyway. my truck is more cold blooded when i run a really powerful tune...

or it could be your tune... (is this the part where i sing matt's praises because i have to do it in every post for some reason )
LvTitan is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-11-2007, 04:49 PM
Slacker



 
Evil Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 18,231
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Thanks: 16
Thanked 190 Times in 163 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
It's possible that one or more injectors are faulty, but not all at the same time. The 6.0's do have some injector problems, but like was already suggested, you should try switching back to stock and see if it does it.

Shawn Carlson
EvilEye@powerstroke.org

Proud Navy Vet
2005 F250, CCSB, 6.0 PSD, FX4 (The Sweet Unit is white)
2008 F350, CCLB, 6.4 PSD (Brad-the wife's truck is black)




Engine Mods:
Fluidampr
CCV Reroute (Reinstated)
4" MBRP Exhaust
MTW Stage 1 Turbo
Bulletproof 53V FICM
BulletProof EGR Cooler
BulletProof Water Pump
Riff Raff Intercooler Boots
Gogo Diesel Direct Drive Solenoid
BulletProof All-Aluminum Radiator
BulletProof All-Aluminum Intercooler
BulletProof Oil Cooler System w/ Bypass Filter
SCT w/ Custom Tunes (TSD, DJ's, Innovative, Gearhead, QuickTricks)

Exterior Mods:
Bilstein 5100 Shocks
Icon Adjustable Trac Bar
Firestone RideRite Air Bags
BDS Dual Steering Stabilizer
Aluminum Finned Differential Cover
Reese 16k Manual Slider 5th Wheel Hitch
Icon 2.5" Leveling Kit w/ F-350 rear blocks
20" BMF Novakanes wrapped in 33" Nitto Terra Grapplers
Evil Eye is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-11-2007, 06:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
goodriddance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western PA
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by LvTitan View Post
if you have faulty injectors that is no reason for them to suspect your tuner all of a sudden.

first thing i would do is flash the truck back to stock and drive it around for a few days and see if the problem goes away. also make sure you warm the truck up well before driving , it is cold out and injectors act weird when cold anyway. my truck is more cold blooded when i run a really powerful tune...

or it could be your tune... (is this the part where i sing matt's praises because i have to do it in every post for some reason )
goodriddance is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-13-2007, 10:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hey Richard,

It sounds like you have a hesitation. A hesitation can be caused by alot of things, like your oil. When was the last time you changed your oil? Your fuel filters. When was the last time you changed your fuel filters? A hesitation can also be caused by your turbo veins sticking, your hpop going back or you could have one or two injectors going bad. Go back to stock and drive the truck around for a while before you go to the dealership so it will register a code.

As far as detecting whether a programmer was on the truck, the only code they will see is the keep alive memory code. If you're questioned about it, your friend told you if you disconnect the batteries it would reset the computer and maybe take care of the problem.

When you get a chance PM me what you were running before you got tunes from us last month and how many miles on your truck. Let us know how it goes at the dealership. Remember, if you get reflashed, you need unlock your box before loading tunes.

DJ
djdieseltech is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-13-2007, 10:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Vivian just corrected me. You have a Livewire and don't need to unlock your box. It's only for the Xcal2. The X3 and Livewire unlock themselves. Figured I'd clear that up.

DJ
djdieseltech is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome