Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

bigger injectors=better fuel economy?

19K views 17 replies 10 participants last post by  twoicebergs 
#1 ·
so ive been reading alot of "build" threads lately because i plan on studding my truck in the near future. alot of guys are sending injectors out to be serviced and upgraded while they are in there and are picking up some mpg. why is this? im relatively new to diesels (this one is my only one but have been doing all work myself for the past 3 years). my injectors have about 105k on them so getting serviced is in the plans but should i have them opened up to say 155s while im at it? im not after every last hp from this truck, but if i gain some that wouldnt hurt either. so can someone explain why you would get a fuel increase with more fuel flow? thanks

#2 ·
More power or HP/Torque = better Mileage.

The thought behind that equation is that with more power you need to use less throttle (or "fuel") to get the same result.

Like with stock injectors, if you use about 40% throttle to enter the freeway, then with a larger injectors you should only need about 35% throttle applied... Does that make sense?

#7 ·
I think it's more a sum of all the new parts that show a gain in MPG.
This is the best answer. There are so many variables to improving fuel consumption, but the goal of bigger injectors is HP and torque. Both of those use more fuel. However, if you are gentle on the pedal and have "new injectors with efficient nozzles" your fuel economy should go up when compared to dirty and worn nozzles. The biggest gain to fuel economy without changing aerodynamics is in the tune. The tune that can extract the largest power from smallest amount of fuel in the cylinder without grenading it, will also improve mileage, but may actually create an emission problem. :doh:

#8 ·