do I need to change gears with bigger tires - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2007, 07:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: dixon ca
Posts: 478
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
do I need to change gears with bigger tires

Can I keep the stock gears on my 04 f250 with 35's ? At my local dealer the service tech mentioned I may want to put 4.56 gears in so the tranny does not work as hard.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-23-2007, 07:30 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,277
Thanks: 23
Thanked 20 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
Quote:
Originally Posted by java black View Post
Can I keep the stock gears on my 04 f250 with 35's ? At my local dealer the service tech mentioned I may want to put 4.56 gears in so the tranny does not work as hard.
wow 4.56? that is way too low for 35's....you will lose all your top end with those... you dont have to regear but you will lose city driving MPG but gain highway miles.... if you really wanted to regear i would just get 4.10's... heck im doing 4.30's on my truck with 37's
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-23-2007, 07:34 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: dixon ca
Posts: 478
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raul@Stealth Automotive View Post
wow 4.56? that is way too low for 35's....you will lose all your top end with those... you dont have to regear but you will lose city driving MPG but gain highway miles.... if you really wanted to regear i would just get 4.10's... heck im doing 4.30's on my truck with 37's
thanks for the quick reply, I probably wont regear I would rather gain highway miles, i commute a few times a week with it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-23-2007, 10:45 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: las vegas
Posts: 1,303
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by java black View Post
Can I keep the stock gears on my 04 f250 with 35's ? At my local dealer the service tech mentioned I may want to put 4.56 gears in so the tranny does not work as hard.
i feel like slapping whoever started this rumor that we all need 4.56 gears on our diesels ! ! ! !

there is NO NEED for 4.56's ! ! i am running 35" tires and i still have my 3.73's and i can leave 4 black streaks in the road when i launch. my truck does not have any problem getting up and going.

if you are planning on doing A LOT of towing, you can step down to 4.10, dont even consider 4.30's unless you plan on going to a 37" tire.
to put things in perspective. 05 6.0 with 4.56 gears will spin 44" tires thru 3 gears going down the road ! ! i know because that's my boy's truck ! !
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-23-2007, 10:46 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: las vegas
Posts: 1,303
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
raul -- just saw your post. you are certainly on the right track. i cant believe anyone would recomend 4.56 for a 35" tire
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-24-2007, 04:06 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 30,408
Thanks: 46
Thanked 52 Times in 49 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by LvTitan View Post
raul -- just saw your post. you are certainly on the right track. i cant believe anyone would recomend 4.56 for a 35" tire
I would if it was for a gasser
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-24-2007, 04:24 AM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,759
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
I would if it was for a gasser

I aggree with you Dave. Gas truck yes, diesel truck no. The only time I would consider regearing my truck is if I went over a 35 inch tire.

When I had my 85 Chevy with a 454 in it. I was running 40 inch ground hawgs on it. I had 456 gears in that and I could smoke them tires easily.

My brother had a 92 GMC 1500 and was running 38 inch super swampers and had 456 gears.

But on a diesel gears are not needed unless you are over 35 inch tires. 4.10's would not be bad but for the cost out wieghs the benefit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-24-2007, 08:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 637
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not needed. However, I would get a programmer to bring back any power you might have lost. I'm running the flashpaq on just the Econo setting and it feels like I have the stock tires with alot more power.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-24-2007, 05:43 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: las vegas
Posts: 1,303
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i have stock gears and 35" tires. i have NO problem running a low 13quarter mile and i can smoke them thru several gears.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-24-2007, 06:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had 4.56 in my 2000 f250 gasser and that worked great. I just put in 4.30 on my psd with 37" tires and for me it works great but if I did a lot of highway driving I would of gone with 4.10's. Definately not 4.56's, you will regret it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors