stereo replacement - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2007, 08:27 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
stereo replacement

How hard is it to swap the factory stereo for a new cd dvd nav system stereo? I was thinking of doing it myself but don't want to get in over my head. I'm no mechanic or stereo guy but did do all my gauges and installed my cab lights and fender lights myself. What is a good system at a decent price? I would be willing to spend around $600.00 for a new system. Thanks for any advise. (06 F-250)

Scott
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-12-2007, 09:48 AM

I'm finishing up a stereo swap on my 06 F350. Got a Pioneer AVIC-D3, good unit. It set me back $700 on amazon. Only downside with the D3 is that you have to pull the nav disc to play a CD, but since I have an ipod attached, I didn't care about that. Here's a few things I learned:

Pulling the dash panel is unbelievably simple. Just grab the top lip and tug on it a few times, it pops right out. Same for the door panels if you're replacing speakers. Very simple.

You will need the nav unit, plus an install kit, plus a wiring harness plug. You'll also need a 1/4 drive socket wrench set.

Wiring up the plug you bought to the Pioneer nav unit was simple. For the most part, the color codes matched. Solder the wires together! This is a diesel engine, and they do vibrate.

If you have steering wheel volume controls, you can get a unit to get them to work with the D3.

Getting the old CD player out was simple - held in place by two screws.