head studs - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2007, 10:08 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
head studs

at what performance level do the stock head bolts not hold up. Looking @ sct livewire and exhaust for my 06. If head studs are needed what is a ball park cost for a service shop to install this. I have read the article in this months diesel power mag, just looking for others input
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-10-2007, 10:49 AM
one day at a time

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tipton, Iowa
Posts: 9,419
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake06 View Post
at what performance level do the stock head bolts not hold up. Looking @ sct livewire and exhaust for my 06. If head studs are needed what is a ball park cost for a service shop to install this. I have read the article in this months diesel power mag, just looking for others input
On your '06 the stock bolts should hold up "fairly well". Meaning that you should be ok up to a certain point. Some trucks can and will still stretch the bolts on stock programming, and the risk goes up with a tuner. SCT is the safest as well as the most powerful tuner IMO. If you decide to stud the motor, $2500 ballpark guess for the cost including the studs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-10-2007, 01:32 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
intresting that even @ the stock level the head bolts are a concern. anyone done this project themselves?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-10-2007, 01:56 PM
one day at a time

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tipton, Iowa
Posts: 9,419
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I did.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-10-2007, 02:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 430
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
studs

Quote:
Originally Posted by shu873 View Post
I did.
Did you do it without pulling the motor or cab?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-11-2007, 03:04 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phillipsburg , NJ
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Please let us know if this was done without pulling the motor or cab. I have a similar question on a different thread. I was under the impression when I bought my '07 6.0 that this problem was addressed by Ford and Navistar. From what I'm hearing on this website, apparently it isn't.
I'm beginning to think I should stud my engine before I do ANYTHING to it and I should wish nothing happens to my engine just driving down the street. I love my '07 King Ranch dually (It's my dream truck.), but I don't want any embarrassing problems. My '97 7.3 was bullet-proof and never gave me any trouble.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-11-2007, 03:28 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago Ridge, IL
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
head studs

i was curious to if you pulled the heads with the motor still in the truck. i was told that was impossible.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-11-2007, 03:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 430
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think it is impossible to remove the heads. The question is if you can replace the bolts with studs one at a time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-12-2007, 02:50 PM
one day at a time

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tipton, Iowa
Posts: 9,419
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine was done by pulling the cab. It was done by a ford diesel tech. not me. I know of one person did the studs one at a time without pulling the heads off, but he pulled the cab too.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-12-2007, 03:13 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have done some recalls on the 6.0L replacing the rocker arm assemblies. Its fine to remove one head bolt at a time, as long as you replace it with a new one and torque to spec. before removing the next one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors