Egr Delete with Up Pipe or Block Off Plate? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2012, 10:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Egr Delete with Up Pipe or Block Off Plate?

I am new to the Powerstroke.org and the 2006 F350 PSD I have now. I am not new to PSD though, I drove a 99 7.3 for the past 12 years with no motor problems what so ever. When I purchased this 06 PSD I really felt lost because I felt comfort level with the 7.3 of which I never had motor problem one. That being said I have edcuated myself by reading lots of forums on the 6.0 which have been really helpful.

I have learned that if my truck hasn't had a problem with the egr system it's only a matter of time and that my oil cooler is more than likely going to be clogged to a certain extent by the sand in the block.

So this is my plan so far. I have in hand now a IPR Gen 2 egr delete kit, a new turbo oil drain tube and a new STC fitting. I am going to pay a ford truck mechanic on the side to do the work on my truck to save some money but I am going to do the coolant flush before the work begins.

My main question and I have look hard to find the answer before I ask so as not to be redundant is:
1. Which is better the up pipe or using the block off plate?
2. After the work I am going to get a guage monitor, for this which one is more suggested the Edge tuner/guages or the SCT tuner ( Not sure if you can monitor the engine function with this one )

Tks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-12-2012, 11:53 AM
Emergency Services

Feedback Score: 1 reviews