HID's for dummies - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2012, 11:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
HID's for dummies

I have been researching HID's for a possible christmas wish list item. I attempted searching for information and didn't get a real dumbed down answer. I apologize for the repost if there is a good explanation out there.

I have seen what different temps and power people have on their trucks but am just not sure. I have never installed hid's before so I am new to everything (product, kits, install).

So far I have read that DDM tuning seems to be the place to get them and that around 6k temp is the white/blueish edge. I am aware that the chrome headlights glare more than the hd lights, so above hid's on my wish list is a set of hd lights.

So here's what I am asking...after looking on ddm's site and the numerous options, I want to know what EXACTLY to order for a full bolt on kit. 35W or 55W? Best temp for bright white and no blue? Fogs? Which bulbs are needed? Hi/lo/fog? Gimme yall's recommendations, personal experiences/preferences, anything.

Thanks in advance for the input!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-11-2012, 11:32 AM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 5 reviews
DDM tuning

55W 5000k Hi/Low in the headlights (6000k is too blue already)

I also have 35W 3000k (yellows) in the fogs... love this setup!
Old 12-11-2012, 11:46 AM
Premium Member

Sylvania Xenon lights are $65 at OReilly's Auto Parts and are a HUGE step forward over the OEM Halogens. Best of all, they are a direct plug in. :thumbup:

sent from a dumb guy with a smart phone

Last edited by Karls03; 12-11-2012 at 11:53 AM.
Old 12-11-2012, 11:47 AM