Want f-250 but is 6.0l should be avoided? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 12:43 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Want f-250 but is 6.0l should be avoided?

Hi guys.

I sold my f-150 like 7 years ago and been crying since then to buy a truck again.
There is no question about it. It will be a ford!

So I'm new to diesel. Since i always lift my trucks and run bigger tires, i know that a diesel will handle it way better and with better fuel economy than the V10 gas engine. Big tires seems to bog down gas engines. Diesel wont barely notice.

The price range of what I'm comfortable with, i wont have too much choice. Ill have to go with the 6.0 L or if I'm lucky and find a good deal on a more recent truck ,i might end up with the 6.4L. Is the 6.4L way better?

So here's the problem. All i ear or i read about the powerstrokes since they changed it from the 7.3 is bad things. To tell you the truth i'm terrified that it will cost me a fortune to keep this truck in working order. Is the newer powerstrokes really expensive to keep in order or even working?

This is my dream truck and wouldn't want this to be my worst nightmare.

Can someone explain to me what i should expect if i buy a f-250 diesel truck?

I expect to start looking for a truck in the new year and the truck will only be an occasional driver and wont see dirt. Plan to have a 7 inch suspension lift and 37 inch tires. This will be more for show. Not for work.

Will these truck require too many maintenance? My last truck was a 1994 f150 with a gas engine. Never had a problem engine wise. But the things i ear on those new powerstokes makes me think twice before buying.

Please help

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-03-2012, 12:46 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor