Looking to buy a PSD - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2012, 07:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Looking to buy a PSD

Hello all - newbie here.

Long story short, I currently have an '03 F150 5.4L V8 4x4 with 118,XXX miles running on hopes and dreams - recently suffered from the typical Ejecto Plug mod.

Been checking out a few 7.3's and some 6.0's as of late. The idea of a diesel has been festering as of late since I can squeeze some excellent milage out of them and just the sheer power of one when you drop the hammer. I'd prefer to stay if the Ford Truck family. I've owned 2 Exploders and my current F150 is my second - I previously had a '97 long bed that was claimed too soon. However the gas motors leave something to be desired in terms of economy and power - my 5.4 is just a dog when it comes to power. It can't brake a tire loose unless I'm coming off a corner. My most recent tank of fuel netted me ~9MPG. Absouletly horrible for a truck that's daily driven 95%

The 6.0 has more appeal - 7.3 is a really big motor and is over kill for me. And yes before you ask I've been doing my homework. I know of the TTY bolts, EGR and oil coolers, coolant and other issues that plague the 6.0. I'm looking to stay simple on this truck - exhaust, intake, and mild tuning. I know these motors can be (and can be made) reliable. Hell some people luck out and get one with no problems.

So first question - If I were to wind up with a 6.0 instead of a 7.3 would one of these two kits work to fix most of the issues? Mainly the stretched TTY bolts and head gaskets? I don't see much difference between the two except for about $100.

Ford 6.0L Powerstroke Complete Solution With Upgraded Cooler

Or

Ford 6.0L Powerstroke Complete Solution With Upgraded Cooler