ARP studs in, do i have to re-torque - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 10-10-2012, 09:47 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member
master1973's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ARP studs in, do i have to re-torque

Ok this is what i've done. I cleaned block holes with air and brake clean. Ran a good factory bolt up and down three times then brake clean and air again. The studs hand tightened to bottom with ease. I added ultra torque assembley lube and torqued nuts in three passes to 150 then broke one at a time added a little more lube and brought up to 210. Then i went through them all again in sequence cracking them loose then back to 210. i am using factory head gaskets also. What i want to know is if I will need to re-torque after i get back on the road, or am I good???


master1973 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 Old 10-11-2012, 01:24 AM
Premium Member
Snake's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 4,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 51
Thanked 65 Times in 51 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Lately I've been reading about several people getting to specs, breaking the nuts loose one at a time, then re-torquing. Where did this guidance come from? And why three passes to get to 150 ft/lbs? Based on what I recently read on ARP's website, it should be three steps to get to 210 ft/lbs (70, 140, then 210).

You're asking about a hot re-torque, and no, its not something you need to do.

2005 F-250
Bulletproof Diesel
1-A Auto Parts

Last edited by Snake; 10-11-2012 at 01:27 AM.
Snake is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 10-11-2012, 01:48 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Valparaiso
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I never heard of people cracking them loose then retorquing them. That doesnt even sound like a good idea. I know you dont have to retorque them once you get them to 210.

05 CC SB 6.0 FX4
Gryphon Tuned
New UCF Heads ported & Oringed
Blue fuel spring
sinister coolant filter
Egr Delete
5" DiamondEye TBE
BFG ATs 35s
ELC Cat-1
EGT/ fuel/ oil psi gauges
Bilsteins Shocks
08+ Aluminum Axle Cover
08+ Trans Pan W/Filter
MTW stage 2 DD solenoid
24+ years Ford Employee

SharkDiver is offline  
Sponsored Links

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome