Instrument Panel -- Lights Out F450 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2007, 06:25 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: DE-MD-PA (on the state line)
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Instrument Panel -- Lights Out F450

This may not be a diesel issue -- but my 2005 PSD 6.0 F450 Crew Cab has no lights on the instrument panel. I checked all fuses. Anybody know how to properly troubleshoot the switch?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-19-2007, 06:51 PM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Munising, MI.
Posts: 9,092
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I know this is a dumb question, but they aren't dimmed out are they? If not pull the switch out and check to see if you have power to the switch. Just pops out of the dash.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-19-2007, 06:54 PM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Munising, MI.
Posts: 9,092
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Here is a good pic to check the power to the light switch. 3-Gauge Install Pictures
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-19-2007, 07:02 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: DE-MD-PA (on the state line)
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No -- not dimmed out. I do have power to the dimmer switch as well as power to the headlight switch. The dimmer switch does turn on the interior cab lights when I turn it all the way up...but no instrument lights. I also took out the dash and took out the instrument cluster. all wire connectors are OK.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-19-2007, 07:07 PM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Munising, MI.
Posts: 9,092
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hmm strange the fuses are good and everything else works. Check the wires on that pic for power make sure there is 12 volts to the instrument cluster.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-19-2007, 07:10 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: DE-MD-PA (on the state line)
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
WHere are those wires in the picture? Are they behind the instrument cluster? I assume that this would be after the dimmer switch so that it would be variable voltage?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-19-2007, 07:12 PM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Munising, MI.
Posts: 9,092
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Actually nope those wires in the pic are in the panel below the steering column.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-19-2007, 07:34 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Barnwell/Bluffton, SC
Posts: 5,270
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to southern7.3
I hate elec stuff. I had a penny fall behind my dash and it stopped my running lights tailights and intrument light from working
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-19-2007, 07:42 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: DE-MD-PA (on the state line)
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OK Vitalidle-- I'll check it out tomorrow. Thanks. I also have a 2000 Excursion 7.3 and want to put in a temp gauge for transmission plus extra cooler and exhaust brake. I tow a heavy trailer. I see from your profile that you have the Isspro gauge cluster. Happy with it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-19-2007, 07:45 PM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Munising, MI.
Posts: 9,092
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hope you get it figured out! Yes I am very happy with the ISSPRO gauges. I like the looks of the analog gauges on the piller. I think if you get guages and you go analog stick with ISSPRO or Autometer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors