Reprogram speedo @ dealerhip. W/ custom tunes loaded. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-2012, 02:12 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 71
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Reprogram speedo @ dealerhip. W/ custom tunes loaded.

I changed tire size (moved down a little closer to stock) and need to get my speedo reprogrammed at the dealership.

I am running Matt's SRL+

Do I need to return the truck to stok before going to dealer?
Will I need to get an updated tune after going to dealer?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-08-2012, 03:13 AM
N.S.D.Q.
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Middle VA
Posts: 3,838
Thanks: 5
Thanked 37 Times in 28 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
What are the current PCM/FICM strategies?? I don't recommend letting the dealership do any form of programming. You can use an up to date SCT SF3 to adjust the speedo.

If you go to the dealer return the truck to stock.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-08-2012, 03:15 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 456
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Prolly be best just to get with Matt and get him to write you another tune that will correct your speedo. A tune shouldnt cost more than the dealer doing it.

I may be wrong but I think that is why the tuner needs the tire size for the custom ones!

If you take your truck to the dealer with a tune loaded it will mre than likely be wiped out and you will also lock your SCT up because it will still be married to the way the truck was!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-08-2012, 05:31 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Carrollton Ohio
Posts: 8,839
Thanks: 65
Thanked 55 Times in 37 Posts
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Sct will not reset your speedo. It only adjusts the shift points based on tire revolutions per mile.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-08-2012, 05:32 AM
N.S.D.Q.
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Middle VA
Posts: 3,838
Thanks: 5
Thanked 37 Times in 28 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Works on my 2006...guess you got an old one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-08-2012, 05:42 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Carrollton Ohio
Posts: 8,839
Thanks: 65
Thanked 55 Times in 37 Posts
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
No I have the sf3 I have t updated the firmware yet but it has never been able to change the speedo.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-08-2012, 05:46 AM
N.S.D.Q.
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Middle VA
Posts: 3,838
Thanks: 5
Thanked 37 Times in 28 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Before I can even load a tune it asks if I want to change the tire revs. I can adjust mine around pretty easily. What you really need is the actual measurements for the tire revs. Measure the distance in inches it takes to roll the tire one full revolution. Then divide the inches in a mile by that number. This is a good starting point to correct the speedo. I got mine to within 1 MPH based off of GPS running 35" Toyo ATs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-08-2012, 06:12 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: FT.Bragg
Posts: 112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyAssault View Post
Before I can even load a tune it asks if I want to change the tire revs.
Ya my X3 asked the same thing before I loaded the tune. I didnt mess with it tho, im only 2 mph off
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-08-2012, 06:27 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,184
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to bwmtnbiker
I had ford do mine before I loaded any tunes. Then again Vivian said that the strategies I had were absolutely ancient and she could do a lot more for me if I went and got the most up to date ones. So I had them adjust it while they were there and they can only adjust up to a 35" tire so it helped but I have basically 37s so mine is still off. My SCT gives the option to change revs too but I have not played with it.

Definitely go back to stock before you go back to the dealer, no matter what you are doing there. I hear they like to update strategies without asking people.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-08-2012, 07:01 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Carrollton Ohio
Posts: 8,839
Thanks: 65
Thanked 55 Times in 37 Posts
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Mine doesn't ask me to change the tire revs it gives me the choice to adjust options but it hasn't ever changed the speedo when I set the revs per mile.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors