Maintenance questions on my 06 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2012, 02:12 AM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Maintenance questions on my 06

Alright, So first thing, does anyone have the factory manual for 2006 6.0L in PDF i can download/send to me?

Second thing is my truck is Stock and has 73k miles on it. I bought it from an independent dealer at 70,400 and also purchased the "Premium Extended Serv Plan" from Ford.

The dealer said they replaced the EGR Cooler and fluids,etc. After i get back from Afghanistan in November I want to have some things looked at and fluids changed, etc.

I am new to Diesels and am curious what maint. is involved or I am looking at in the near future since i dont expect a ESP to cover your basic stuff. Im used to my little VW R32 which is a hole different animal.

So my questions are as follows.

1). what are the fluid service intervals
2) does this motor have an internal timing chain/belt that needs to be changed out at a certain mileage?
3) At what temperature do you need to start thinking about plugging the truck in overnight?
4) By reading on the org, the trucks have quite a bit of filters, over your normal car gas engine. What should i be aware of and or keep my eyes on.
5.) Do i need to change fluids more frequently if towing?

6.)What types of modifications can i do that wont nessesarily void an ESP ( ie exhaust, suspension, etc)

Really anything regarding maintenance would be appreciative. If anyone has links for threads on the ORG, or other PSD sites, that might be beneficial as well.

Thanks for any input.

-Ellery
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-30-2012, 02:53 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

I just emailed you the International Factory service manuals.