Considering 6.0 to replace D-Max - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2012, 05:17 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Considering 6.0 to replace D-Max

Hey hey Powerstrokers....yeah, I'm a newbie to Fords and P-Strokes. I've been a Chevy guy for 25+ years, and D-Max guy since 2002. Owned 3 and loved them all. My problem is......the current situation with GM and their new found love affair with the Chinese. I heard (NOT read...HEARD) a speech with GM's CEO telling the Chi-coms they would be building new Plants as well as State-of-the-art Technology R&D center OVERSEAS......"presumably" with our bailout tax dollars. And we have 20 million AMERICANS out of work.....WTF is THAT all about GM?????????

I've had enough and am looking the Blue Oval. I've heard good things and bad, just like Cummins and D-Max, so let's not get wound up too tight. I have gathered from this site that the early 6.0's, ie 02-04 are trouble, and the 6.4's suck diesel like a sponge. I tow a 30' travel trailer a few weeks a year for hunting and family vacation trips. Other than that, it sits parked in my shop most of the time. That's why my 2008 D-Max has 32,000 miles on it. I obviously don't drive it a lot, I'm not a hot-rodder (have a '73 Rally Challenger for that), and don't pull crazy heavy loads when I do need to grunt. I WILL keep a diesel of some flavor until I'm too old to aim a rifle!!!!

So.....my issue is...give me solid pro and cons for a 2005-2007 Crew Cab Powerstroke with around 75-90K miles. I'm eyeing a couple and they are keeping my attention. Just don't want to regret my decision to dump a D-max I love because of socio-political issues, for a truck that I should have avoided in the first place. I don't want a "new truck" payment, so I'm avoiding the entire 6.7 discussion.