Warm Up Times / No Power - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2012, 06:46 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Eagle 33
Warm Up Times / No Power

I'm fairly new to owning diesels, but not new to driving them. My 06 F350 is a PITA in the morning unless it warms up at least 10 minutes. Mind you the ambient temperature here has been in the low 70's overnight, so its not overly cold out. The truck had the EGR removed by the prior owner, and i've heard that it is adding to my increased warm up times.

I have also heard that the programming doesn't kick in until the engine gets to operating temperature. is there a way around that? I mean i understand that the idea is to have it warm before you put a ton of power to it so that it doesnt mess up the engine. I have an SCT Livewire for a tuner. So if getting a new set of tunes would solve this, it would be well worth the money!

the problem is that I'm a volunteer firefighter and I can't warm up the truck for 10 minutes before heading out when there is a call to respond to. And no acceleration and a max speed of about 30 is just not cutting it.

I have read people saying that switching oil will help, and i'm due for an oil change anyway. what do you guys recommend?

If the problem is like this when its this warm out, I can only imagine how much worse it will be when the temps are down to single digits or negatives.

Anyone able to help me out here?

Last edited by Eagle 33; 08-14-2012 at 06:50 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-14-2012, 07:40 AM