Why does my factory air cleaner only have a 2 wire plug instead of 6 wire plug? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-2012, 12:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Why does my factory air cleaner only have a 2 wire plug instead of 6 wire plug?

The retaining tabs on my 2005 factory air cleaner housing are broke so i have to replace it. My original air cleaner has a 2 wire plug for the sensor with the 6 wire just hanging next to it on a factory plastic stud to keep it there rather than loose. All of the used air cleaner housings i found are all just the flat 6 plug ones. Can i just plug the flat one in to the new housing and let the 2 wire plug hang free or do i have to find a housing just like mine to work correctly with my truck?
Attached Thumbnails
Why does my factory air cleaner only have a 2 wire plug instead of 6 wire plug?-housing.jpg   Why does my factory air cleaner only have a 2 wire plug instead of 6 wire plug?-mytruck.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-06-2012, 12:19 PM
I don't know nuttin....

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tuttle, OK
Posts: 17,149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Should be able to. Thats the MAF sensor. If it doenst work it will let you know.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-06-2012, 12:37 PM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,969
Thanks: 3
Thanked 27 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
The top unit shows the IAT sensor. (Intake Air Temp). The bottom unit shows a MAF sensor. (Mass Air Flow)

Some 2005 trucks did not use a MAF Sensor. I have one of those. If you want to use a housing like the bottom one, drill a hole for the IAT sensor and move it from the to unit to the bottom unit. Plug the IAT sensor in but do not plug the MAF sensor in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-06-2012, 02:41 PM
N.S.D.Q.
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Middle VA
Posts: 3,838
Thanks: 5
Thanked 37 Times in 28 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Interesting...guess the PCM just will not recognize the MAF if it was originally an IAT.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-06-2012, 03:27 PM
NOT a Democrat
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Robinson Twp PA (Pittsburgh)
Posts: 4,509
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Galaxie
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGreenSVT View Post
The top unit shows the IAT sensor. (Intake Air Temp). The bottom unit shows a MAF sensor. (Mass Air Flow)

Some 2005 trucks did not use a MAF Sensor. I have one of those. If you want to use a housing like the bottom one, drill a hole for the IAT sensor and move it from the to unit to the bottom unit. Plug the IAT sensor in but do not plug the MAF sensor in.
I was wondering why the 05 at our fire hall didnt have a MAF Sensor.... Good to know.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-06-2012, 03:44 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA / Williamsport, PA
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxie View Post
I was wondering why the 05 at our fire hall didnt have a MAF Sensor.... Good to know.
My truck was like this too, I thought these were MAF trucks but I was scratching my head when I had it apart to do the turbo.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-06-2012, 04:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,545
Thanks: 8
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The Mass Air Flow (MAF) Sensor was removed from F-Series vehicles with Federal calibrations beginning in November 2004 (several months into the 2005 model year production) and added back in for the 2006 model years.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-06-2012, 04:39 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,168
Thanks: 7
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bismic View Post
The Mass Air Flow (MAF) Sensor was removed from F-Series vehicles with Federal calibrations beginning in November 2004 (several months into the 2005 model year production) and added back in for the 2006 model years.
do you know why they removed it or why they added back in. My thinking what they added it back in when they decided to move to a inferred release and the lack of a MAF didn't help the inferred programing any. I don't know though but I always wondered why.

On a side note my 05 was built Oct 04 and has a MAF.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-06-2012, 04:40 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,168
Thanks: 7
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bismic View Post
The Mass Air Flow (MAF) Sensor was removed from F-Series vehicles with Federal calibrations beginning in November 2004 (several months into the 2005 model year production) and added back in for the 2006 model years.
do you know why they removed it or why they added back in. My thinking was that they added it back in when they decided to move to a inferred release and the lack of a MAF didn't help the inferred programing any. I don't know though but I always wondered why.

On a side note my 05 was built Oct 04 and has a MAF.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-06-2012, 06:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,545
Thanks: 8
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I believe what you described is true - don't know for sure though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors