Auxiliary fuel tank and water separator question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2012, 07:59 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Auxiliary fuel tank and water separator question

I really appreciate the expertise in this form, and have been OD'ing on it for the last few months.

I just picked up a very clean 2005 F250 crew cab that had already been bullet proofed (sweet), and had some suspension work done for towing. It was a great find.

My question is regarding the auxiliary fuel tank. I'm still a newbie to the diesel world, but am trying to come up to speed fast and have been on the internet a lot in the past few months.

I am getting ready to do the fuel filters and an oil change this weekend, and was tracing the lines from my auxiliary tank under the frame rails. There is an inline fuel filter of unknown origin currently in line, a silver metallic filter that looks kind of like this:

I need to trace more, but I didn't see any kind of water separator there, and am concerned about injectors. The line from the auxiliary tank is on the opposite side of the truck than the stock water separator/filter unit, so I'm 99% sure it doesn't go through there. I'll have to double-check.

Is there a good inline fuel filter that also acts as a water separator? What kind of other things are the folks on this forum doing who have auxiliary fuel tanks in the bed?

Thanks for any info.

Here are a few pictures of my new beauty:

Last edited by jcm3; 07-10-2012 at 08:48 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-10-2012, 09:02 PM

Bumpidy bump...
Old 07-11-2012, 07:35 AM

Send a message via AIM to rufushusky