Ficm - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 07-08-2012, 05:18 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ficm

Does a ficm need programming after buying a new one or can you just install it and be good? My uncle replaced his now his truck don't start
97f3powerstroke is offline  
post #2 of 9 Old 07-08-2012, 05:45 AM
Premium Member
 
Arctic Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Stockbridge, Mi.
Posts: 798
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
If it's a brand new complete FICM then it will need to be programed, if it's a "half shell" which is just the power supply side then it doesn't need to be programed
To have it programed at the dealer you will have to take the truck in... when the dealer programs the FICM they will also reprogram the ECM to the newest version (not always the best option).
You have a few other options besides taking it to a dealer.
1 - ship the new FICM to PHP, IDP, Swamps or ficmrepair.com to have it programed (there may also be a few more I didn't mention)
2 - if the logic board is still good in the old FICM you could swap it into the new FICM
3 - contact PHP and get on the waiting list for one of their remote programmers (but that may take a few weeks)

The benefit of doing option 1 or 3 is you can have a performance program loaded onto the FICM

2006 F-450 XLT 4x4 Auto 4.30L Alcoa 19.5" 16,000 GVWR
Kelderman 4-Link/4-Bag Rear Suspension, Lariat Seats, '08 Console, '11 Mirrors, CTS, SCT X3
ARP's w/OEM HG, BPD 6ph FICM @ 58v, BPD Oil Cooler w/stat, Ported Intake, 185 amp Alt
P-Max w/WPE billet wheel, Spearco IC, 4" Banks Exhaust, Shell T6, Zerex EC-1, Oil bypass filter

49,000 miles

Last edited by Arctic Fox; 07-08-2012 at 05:56 AM.
Arctic Fox is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-08-2012, 06:11 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I mentioned the tuned ficm befor he had bought a new one and he didn't go for it. Looks like its going to ford again
97f3powerstroke is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 07-08-2012, 08:48 AM
Super Moderator


 
PGreenSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,991
Thanks: 4
Thanked 46 Times in 18 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
The quickest is just to swap the logic board from the old FICM if you have it. They very rarely go bad, it is the power board that goes bad. That is also the cheapest out if buying new replacements from Ford as they sell just the power half shell.
PGreenSVT is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-08-2012, 09:22 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 
forddieseldoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Saint Cloud, WI
Posts: 4,464
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I program the ficm after I install a half, cause that's what the directions in the tsb say to do. I guess I'm gonna try to start one before I program it and see if it does actually start.

Ford Senior Master Diesel Tech
forddieseldoctor@att.net


IF YOU DON'T WANNA STAND BEHIND OUR TROOPS
THEN FEEL FREE TO STAND IN FRONT OF THEM


Meet Double Aught
2000 F250

forddieseldoctor is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-08-2012, 10:33 AM
Premium Member
 
Arctic Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Stockbridge, Mi.
Posts: 798
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by forddieseldoctor View Post
I program the ficm after I install a half, cause that's what the directions in the tsb say to do. I guess I'm gonna try to start one before I program it and see if it does actually start.
It should start without programing if you are just changing out the power supply half.
I would guess that Ford instructs you to program it because they always want you to update to the newest strategy whenever you service a vehicle

2006 F-450 XLT 4x4 Auto 4.30L Alcoa 19.5" 16,000 GVWR
Kelderman 4-Link/4-Bag Rear Suspension, Lariat Seats, '08 Console, '11 Mirrors, CTS, SCT X3
ARP's w/OEM HG, BPD 6ph FICM @ 58v, BPD Oil Cooler w/stat, Ported Intake, 185 amp Alt
P-Max w/WPE billet wheel, Spearco IC, 4" Banks Exhaust, Shell T6, Zerex EC-1, Oil bypass filter

49,000 miles
Arctic Fox is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-08-2012, 01:59 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Do I need to replace the smaller circuit board with the two black things on it or the one large board?
97f3powerstroke is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 07-08-2012, 02:06 PM
Premium Member
 
Arctic Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Stockbridge, Mi.
Posts: 798
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
You want to use the top 1/2 of the new FICM and the bottom 1/2 of the old one.
Don't try to remove the boards from the cases.
The bottom 1/2 has the electrical connectors that plug into the wire harness and is the 1/2 with the larger board in it.

2006 F-450 XLT 4x4 Auto 4.30L Alcoa 19.5" 16,000 GVWR
Kelderman 4-Link/4-Bag Rear Suspension, Lariat Seats, '08 Console, '11 Mirrors, CTS, SCT X3
ARP's w/OEM HG, BPD 6ph FICM @ 58v, BPD Oil Cooler w/stat, Ported Intake, 185 amp Alt
P-Max w/WPE billet wheel, Spearco IC, 4" Banks Exhaust, Shell T6, Zerex EC-1, Oil bypass filter

49,000 miles

Last edited by Arctic Fox; 07-08-2012 at 02:10 PM.
Arctic Fox is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 07-08-2012, 05:59 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 
forddieseldoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Saint Cloud, WI
Posts: 4,464
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arctic Fox View Post
It should start without programing if you are just changing out the power supply half.
I would guess that Ford instructs you to program it because they always want you to update to the newest strategy whenever you service a vehicle
That's my suspicion, but I'm gonna try the next one without and see what happens.

Ford Senior Master Diesel Tech
forddieseldoctor@att.net


IF YOU DON'T WANNA STAND BEHIND OUR TROOPS
THEN FEEL FREE TO STAND IN FRONT OF THEM


Meet Double Aught
2000 F250

forddieseldoctor is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome