OBD port not working right? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2012, 04:48 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Versailles, KY
Posts: 823
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OBD port not working right?

Thought I'd toss this out, to see if anyone else has encountered this... looking for a common solution...

Went to put an Edge Insight on the other day, but it no come to life. Before I got in touch with Edge, I thought I'd try an update. Connect the Insight to the USB port, and it turned on and went into demo mode - pretty neat. I don't think the Insight is bad.

So I dug out an old code reader I had. Turned on when I switched on the truck like it's supposed to, but it acted funny when I hit the read code button - turned itself off. So it looks like something weird is going on with the OBD port.

I did replace the FICM last fall with one out of an 05 PS. Unknown condition, but the truck is running fine.

Anyone else have something like this happen? Loose plug somewhere?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-28-2012, 07:12 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I am having the same issue. Mine went south when I blew a fuse for the Power Port. Does your power port work? I cannot find the fuse that runs it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-28-2012, 07:12 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,197
Thanks: 1
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Edge didn't power up, other scanner was on then shut off.

Are you sure you are getting power to the port? Check the cig lighter fuse.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-28-2012, 07:14 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Do you know what fuse controls it? I have been looking for a blown fuse, but have not found one anywhere.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-28-2012, 07:19 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,197
Thanks: 1
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fuse # 12. Under the dash runs Cig and OBD2 port.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-28-2012, 07:19 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thank you. I will check that one again at lunch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-28-2012, 12:59 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Versailles, KY
Posts: 823
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Actually, my ciggie lighter is blown. I plugged an air pump into it instead of the power tap and blew the fuse about a year ago.

I'll be darned... it's that simple. Man, the org just plain rocks.. Thanks guys!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-28-2012, 04:17 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Versailles, KY
Posts: 823
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well, that was it. Insight came right to life, even nagged me about breaking speed limits. As if I can afford to speed with #2 costing what it does...

Man, this is one cool little device. Unless your cig lighter fuse is blown, a trained monkey could install it and set it up. We'll see how ECT/EOT look on the way to work tomorrow. Mine sits in the big ashtray, so I can see it but thieves can't, it fits perfectly in there. No 6.0 should be without one.

They do need to make one change though - make the screen wider, or make it so you can daisy chain a couple of them together. There's a lot of cool stuff it can show.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-28-2012, 08:21 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Great Land
Posts: 85
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm glad you got your Insight working...it is next on my list. Want an expandable with as many sensors as makes sense.
Your comment on a larger screen caught my eye. In my truck I run an ICOM IC-7000 radio. It too has many neat read outs, but lacks a good sized screen. I found a 7 inch color monitor at Fry's electronics ($70.00) and it really helps my eyes! The radio came with a video out feature, not sure if that is available from Edge products.
Best of luck to you and yours and Happy Miles!
73
Jon
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors