Experienced '03 EGR delete guys need advice - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2012, 12:40 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Experienced '03 EGR delete guys need advice

Hi,
I'm doing a delete on my cousin's '03 (I've done the same on my '04) any differences I need to watch for. Turbo mount is different, any trick tools/methods? The intake has a rear crossover, the injector harness is different, can it be unfastened like an '04? Any hints, tips, or advice, I'm a good student, thanks ahead.

John
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-22-2012, 12:47 PM
War is the answer!

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
If yours is an early 04 there is nothing different. It's not too bad just be careful with the injector clips and take your time.
Old 06-22-2012, 12:53 PM

Nope, I got a late '04 ICP on RS valve cover.
Old 06-22-2012, 12:59 PM
War is the answer!

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Then I think that will be your only difference really. Im not sure when they changed the turbo pedestool but I think it was in 05. Ether way use A LOT of penetrating oil on those bolts. I almost striped mine the first time I got it out.
Old 06-22-2012, 01:17 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 5 reviews
I noticed that the 03 turbos (in 03 pedestals) were A PITA to take out compared to my 05...

Atleast now I know that You do not need to take apart EVERYTHING to get the egr cooler out

First time I did it I took off the whole intake manifold
then I realized that there are only two freaking bolts holding the cooler to the manifold, and the blue cooler rubber connector can slide off without the need of a knife
Old 06-22-2012, 02:25 PM

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Is it still that the intake manifold can just be loosend and the cooler wiggled out from under it?