Factory Oil Cooler - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2012, 05:07 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Factory Oil Cooler

So I am brand new to the Ford 6.0 scene and diesels for that matter. Bought a 2003 F350 CC Dually 4x4. I have read for days on end about these engines and the problems associated with them. So after all my reading and "figuring" I finally have a question. Why would anyone ever put a factory oil cooler back in the truck once the first one was clogged and had to be removed? Here is what I think I read over teh last few days.

The coolant is bad or maybe it is not, either way the coolant clogs the oil cooler causeing the EGR cooler to overheat and fail which causes oil and coolant to mix and dump coolant into the cylinders. At this point the cylinders have too much pressure and the TTY head bolts stretch causeing head gasket failure. Of course this is the condensed version.

So, why not put an aftermarket oil cooler back in if the problem begins with the factory oil cooler and coolant combination? I understand that if thecoolant is changed more often the new cooler may never fail. I also understand that it is very difficult, if not impossible, to get all the old coolant and gel/sludge/sand out of the coolant system. Is it a cost issue or does teh majority believe something else is the cause of teh problem to begin with, like the EGR?

Thanks, cool forum.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-19-2012, 05:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

For me it was simply cost, so far I am having far better success with ELC coolant, time will tell I suppose.
Old 06-19-2012, 05:14 PM
Powerstroke Techie

Feedback Score: 3 reviews