weird problem.. turbo sticking? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2012, 01:51 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
weird problem.. turbo sticking?

hey all,
Ive been using my SCT for about 2 months now and I just got a custom tune a few weeks ago. My SCT has canned tunes that I was running (street perfromance). I didnt notice this problem im having untill I got my custom tune. Heres my problem.. When accelerating from a stop going about half throttle and maybe about 20psi of boost I get up to 50-60mph, then I ease of the throttle and hold 55mph or there abouts. When im holding this speed my boost psi on my gauge will just drop to 0 and hold it. Its like there is a switch for the turbo to shut it off and it was just shut off. So im still holding the gas pedal to keep me at around 55mph and if I give it more gas to speed up my boost will stay at zero like its in vacume and i just start to roal coal out my exhaust because Im not burning the fuel because I have zero boost. If I keep pushing the gas pedal to the floor I will just start blowing more smoke and my boost dont move from zero. Now If i go WOT it will roal coal for a sec then the boost will finally kick in like something was holding it back.
I dont ever notice my boost sticking in any other situation. When driving around from stop light to stop light and getting on it hard my boost never sticks or overboosts.
I talked to the guy who did my tune and had him change it thinking it may be that but i notice no change. He thinks its my turbo sticking. To be honest i dont think it is the tune but I think the tune may be bringing out a weakness in something.. I dont know... It dont seem like a sticking turbo since it only does it when that situation of getting up to highway speeds and holding speed.