New Radio - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-06-2012, 05:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,020
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New Radio

Hey guys, any tips or tricks I need to know before I install my new radio? I do have one question though. I bought a double din radio to fill the entire area of the old ford factory radio but my truck has the 6 disc CD changer. Does the 6 disc changer need to come out before the new radio gets put in? If so is there an easy way to do it? I needed a new radio so I could play my Ipod, current Ford radio lacks that option. Thanks for any input guys.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-06-2012, 05:29 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,630
Thanks: 85
Thanked 180 Times in 144 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
I'd like to know also, I'm thinking about going to the Pioneer App Radio2.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-06-2012, 05:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,020
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The 6 disc CD changer is the only thing I am confused about. I am doing the install this weekend Lilpooh, I will let you know how it all goes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-06-2012, 05:46 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,630
Thanks: 85
Thanked 180 Times in 144 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Thanks, I'll keep an eye on this thread.

What radio are you going with?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-06-2012, 05:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,020
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Boss 822UA

Sent from my DROID4 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-06-2012, 06:02 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Anchorage
Posts: 1,268
Thanks: 18
Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Get a wiring harness and install kit, whatever you do don't cut the factory wiring harness. The disc changer is integrated into the factory radio it is all one piece.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-07-2012, 08:12 AM
Emergency Services
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: stafford, va
Posts: 207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah, my stereo head/cd changer just died the other day. I keep getting "CD error" messages all the time. I'd also like to figure out how the install works since I need to buy a new head unit sooner than I wanted to.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-07-2012, 04:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,020
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New radio came in today along with a wire harness and a face plate. I am going to try to put it in tomorrow night after work... or Saturday afternoon if I run late Friday night. I will take some notes and give you all a run down along with some pics. If it all works I will also get you all the part numbers/links to the stuff I used, if it all works. ttyl guys.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-07-2012, 04:59 PM
War is the answer!


 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Daytona Beach, Florida
Posts: 5,040
Thanks: 101
Thanked 64 Times in 19 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
My factory changer took a crap I need one that works. Did you keep yours and what year is your truck?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-07-2012, 05:08 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,630
Thanks: 85
Thanked 180 Times in 144 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lilfarmrboy View Post
I will take some notes and give you all a run down along with some pics. If it all works I will also get you all the part numbers/links to the stuff I used, if it all works. ttyl guys.
Thanks!! Now I just gotta wait until DashBoss gets the approval from Pioneer so I can have a monitor built into the radio.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors