Electric fans - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2012, 05:37 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Electric fans

I know this topic is like beating your head against the wall but since my stock fan quit working and has set a soft code and the only reason I know that is because I'm a tech a ford and checked with the IDS. What lead me to checking was my ac system acting funny it would blow really cold for a while then warm up a little then back cold in town out on the high way just pure cold. Hooked up our ac machine to truck and with no air movement my pressure on the hot side was sky rocket. Anyways.... I didn't buy the flex a lite kit. I picked up 2 14in pull type fans since the radiator is a little over 28 in tall. I was going to mount one up top in one corner by the air box since that's we're upper hose is and then do the other In the lower passenger corner I was thinking about not making a shroud. Since that just blocks air from moving threw going down the high way good or bad idea?

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-20-2012, 06:05 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Here is another good question, would electric fans help on the fuel mileage? To the OP: What you are talking about sounds good to me but would it do much good if you pull heavy loads, ie be enough air to cool things down vs the stock fan?
Old 05-20-2012, 06:19 AM

Send a message via Skype™ to 2003kingranch
From what I've read. The stock fan pushes 10k cfm and the electric kit I was looking at flowed 5500 cfm. So about half. So I would guess towing heavy is out of the question.

Sent from my iPhone using Autoguide
Old 05-20-2012, 06:22 AM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 1 reviews