New to me 6.0 powerstroke - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2012, 10:02 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Smile New to me 6.0 powerstroke

Bear with me newbie here as well as to psd. I got 05 6.0 bought very recently seems to run good but a bit concerned about egts it cruises on highway with no load on at 800-900 at 60 mph it does have edge attitude it doesn't change much for egt regaurdless of stock level one two or three. 4 inch magna flow exhaust. Getting 25 pounds of boost regaurdless what level it's on. Also any tips on checking health of engine before I start spending money on egr cooler. Electric fan. New oil cooler. The truck is very high mileage 200,000 miles. Thanxs ahead of time
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-30-2012, 10:06 AM
Serving Our Country!

First off, most will tell you to ditch the Edge and go with an SCT programmer. SCT has a much better track record on these trucks.

Second, you will want to get some gauges. You could go mechanical or digital. Personally, I went with the Scangauge II. It reads everything you need for this truck, except EGTs. Lucky for you, you seem to already have an EGT gauge. One of the main things you are going to want to monitor is the difference in temps between your ECT (engine coolant temp) and your EOT (engine oil temp). You don't want them to be great than 15* apart while traveling between 60 and 65 on a FLAT road.

Third, thats not high mileage for these trucks.
Old 04-30-2012, 10:20 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie