Fuel Economy and Maint Questions- Newbie - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2012, 05:34 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fuel Economy and Maint Questions- Newbie

This is my first post. I am a complete diesel novice. This month I purchased a 2004 F250 Extended Cab 4X4 diesel. I knew that I would be putting significant preventative maintenance money into the truck before I bought it.

According to a knowledgeable diesel mechanic the truck is completely stock. The odometer reads 113,000 miles. The truck had three previous owners and seems to be in excellent condition. The carfax indicates “maintenance inspections” occurred on the dates 2/2005, 3/2006, 7/2008 and 6/2010. The carfax also shows that the vehicle was otherwise serviced regularly.

I live in North Palm Beach in south Florida. The weather has been warm. In the mornings I need to let the truck warm up for five minutes; otherwise it lacks power for the first half mile of driving. After that everything seems ok. I am a slow driver with a light foot.

Combined city/highway fuel economy is currently 8.9 miles per gallon based on 420 miles of driving (50 miles of which were towing a 5000lb boat).
Before I ran the fuel economy numbers I took the truck to a local diesel expert. He said that although his specialty is not Fords (there were a lot of DuraMax’s scattered around his place) he has worked on a lot of them. He has an excellent reputation. We made plans for an egr delete, cleaning of the turbo, replacement of the oil cooler and a few other details I can’t recall. He said that he could “adjust the codes” or something like that but also said that he lacked some computer equipment for the Fords. We do not plan to stud the heads. He suggested an intake and exhaust. I’m waiting for his estimate for all the details.