Coolent Flush and EGR delete/oil cooler replacement - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2012, 04:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Coolent Flush and EGR delete/oil cooler replacement

Iím starting the "BIG EVENT" in ten minutes, so start the clock. I have never done this before so let see how long it takes a green horn to complete. I have down loaded and printed all the files, studied the process like Iím working on college finials. Any last minute tips
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-10-2012, 04:06 AM
War is the answer!

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Took me 2 days. Make sure you spray the turbo bolts with pb blaster. If you have any questions post them up. We will help.
Old 03-10-2012, 04:10 AM

Knee pads...or a top side creeper. I'm about 8 hours into mine (over the past week). My knees hurt from trying to get to the up pipe bolts and heat shield. I don't have the room to get a top side creeper in my garage (truck barely fits).

Besides that, take your time and you'll be fine. Spray the exhaust bolts down with knocker loose a couple times before you try to unbolt them.

Only other big issue I've faced is carving out time to work on it. Seems work keeps getting in the way of my garage time.
Old 03-10-2012, 04:30 AM
War is the answer!

Knocker loose...lol

oh and taking off the passenger side wheel makes getting to the up pipe bolts way easier. Just cut the old ones off.
Old 03-10-2012, 05:54 AM
Powerstroke Techie

Feedback Score: 3 reviews
When removing the old oil from the HPOP reservoir, be sure not to disturb the oil too much. Debris and dirt can be pushed down past a failed HPOP screen. This debris/dirt can get sucked into the IPR during start up and cause a no start or running issues.