Cummins owner thinking 6.0 for new truck - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2012, 07:34 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cummins owner thinking 6.0 for new truck

Hi guys,
I'm in need of a new truck to haul our camper and I cant help but consider a Ford given the quality of the truck aswell as the selection. With that said, I recognize that there have been some issues with the 6.0 but I would like to hear from you guys as to how big of an issue these stories are to decide if its too big of a concern Fyi, I'm an above average backyard mechanic and not afraid of a challengeas long as I understand what I'm up against.

Any tips or suggestions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-06-2012, 07:46 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Long story short, yes there's issues but theres solutions for them all! Check out the "sticky" "bullet proofing the 6.0" . My opinion, I love the 6.0 I have done all the work myself under a pop up tent in the driveway, I've had two 05's and now how an 03' and wouldn't trade them for nothing,

What are you looking for in specific?
Old 03-06-2012, 07:48 PM

Don't be afraid, especially if you don't mind getting your hands dirty from time to time. Personally most of the issues are way over blown IMHO. Go look at trucks and get an Oasis report that shows the trucks entire service history. If its pretty clean with a good service record it should be a good truck. Fords can't be beat, the 6.0 on the other hand is a great motor if you maintain it.
Old 03-06-2012, 08:41 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie