Rear Brakes - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2012, 01:07 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Rear Brakes

So this is my first attempt to do the back brakes on my truck. Just wanted to run my plan past the gents (and ladies) that know much more than I do.
My general idea is one wheel at a time:
  1. Jack up truck (Hi Lift)
  2. Place jack stands under the axle tube (I know frame is preferred but I dont know if they will reach)
  3. Remove rear wheels, previously loosened on the ground
  4. Remove caliper
  5. Remove caliper bracket
  6. Remove rotor
The part that I have worries about is removing the rotors. I know that the e-brake is inside the rear rotor and it is basically a drum brake. I know some of you may call me a youngin' for this but... I have never worked on or adjusted drum brakes, so do I need to do something special to get the rotor to clear the e-brake pads?
As for my jack stands, I have a set of 6 ton's that I believe may reach the frame but if not, is the axle tube strong enough for me to use?
Long story short: The caliper slide bolts started to stick and wore the inner pad down and caused the caliper to fail on the driver side rear, my fault for ignoring it. Thankfully I wasn't towing or going fast at the time, just trying to park in my driveway. Pedal went to the floor, I used the e-brake to stop and the truck has sat right there since (10 days ~ish). I noticed a puddle of brake fluid coming from the caliper and when I looked with a flashlight (always happens at night right...) I saw that the inner pad had come off the pistons and slipped down inside the dust shield. The pistons had then pressed directly into the rotor and the fluid was streaming from the hyperextended pistons.