fuel pressure gauge options? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 03-04-2012, 09:02 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
fuel pressure gauge options?

since it seems that most everyone recommends monitoring fuel pressure i'm looking to get a fuel pressure gauge but i am not sure what to get. so i am curious to know what people are using or what they can recommend. is this an electronic gauge that people are mounting in a gauge pod on the dash etc. or can fuel pressure monitored through say an edge insight? any help will be appreciated.
RedfireSVT is offline  
post #2 of 6 Old 03-04-2012, 09:13 AM
Doesn't Even Care


 
HVAC SuperTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 18,042
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Thanks: 105
Thanked 138 Times in 133 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You have to have an outside source for the guage. Insight or other obdII device doesn't measure fuel pressure. There's no parameter set up in the pcm to monitor that. I have an electronic guage in the cab and a sending unit on the fuel bowl in the engine bay on mine. It works good. Its Stewart Warner brand, but autometer has good guages too,

Sent from my Acer Android Tablet

Nick
E99/CC/Lariat/Factory Wide Body Kit
"The Mistress"
Power Hungry Performance HYDRA Chip
Custom Tuned by Bill@PHP, Tony Wildman@Total Diesel Performance and Lars@Gearhead



D66 w/Dieselsite WW2, Full Force 250/100s, Adrenalin HPOP, Built Trans, Walbro Fuel Pump, S&B Intake, 6" Stacks, Leveling Kit, Eagle Alloy Wheels, 315/75/16 Grabber AT2s & Much More




HVAC SuperTech is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-04-2012, 09:17 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
amdriven2liv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 47 Times in 42 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedfireSVT View Post
since it seems that most everyone recommends monitoring fuel pressure i'm looking to get a fuel pressure gauge but i am not sure what to get. so i am curious to know what people are using or what they can recommend. is this an electronic gauge that people are mounting in a gauge pod on the dash etc. or can fuel pressure monitored through say an edge insight? any help will be appreciated.
Try looking at this recent thread. Idea on a cheap fuel pressure gauge. Might want to PM the OP for more info.


Bought a dreaded 6.0L
amdriven2liv is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 03-04-2012, 01:01 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok an electronic gauge i can get and i will mount a pod somewhere in the cab but what wiring and fittings will i need and where can i get them? i've read the sensor mounts on the fuel filter bowl but i don't know what else is required or where to even get the sensor or adapters.
RedfireSVT is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-04-2012, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
When you buy the gauge, from whom ever it comes with the sensor. You want to buy the adapter that fits the test port, The get a remote stainless line to mount the sensor up near the fire wall, run wire inside to gauge. There will be instructions with the gauge as to what wires need to go where.

05 F250 CC, Fabtech 6in Lift. 20's Toyo 35" M/T, SCT, Custom Tunes, Gauges,
Banks Intake, 4" SS Turbo back. ect.
briandv8 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-04-2012, 02:22 PM
Premium Member
 
Term3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 3,957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 32 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
If you get a 90 degree adapter you don't need to remote mount the sensor. I've had mine mounted at the test port for four years with zero issues.

SCT, no studs...yet, Dual OEM intake air filter housings, Banks intercooler & intake elbow, Banks exhaust system, Windrunner ported intake manifold, Bullet Proof Diesel remote oil cooler & thermostat, AirDog2 (plus a couple spares), Power steering filter (Amsoil dual-bypass), MagTec deep ATF pan, Electric oil pre-lub pump, Dakota Digital gauges.
Term3 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome