Another NEWB delete post: Need some reassurances - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2012, 09:57 PM
Serving Our Country!

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Another NEWB delete post: Need some reassurances

Guys/Gals,

Profusely appologize ahead of time for everyone having to endure another one of these, as I know there are endless threads and posts on this stuff. I couldn't find what I was looking for that way, so...

It looks like a deal can be made, so I'm proceeding forward. The issue I'm having trouble wrapping my head around is the deletes. It can't be too hard, as fishmedic proved on his EX (great thread, BTW). Here's a guy with zero mechanical experience getting the job done and right the first time. I've been tinkering with machines for over 30 years and have been a professional ground support equipment mechanic for 17. Even so, this is intimidating to me (at least the visual part of it; looks like a nightmare under there). I believe the medic had the mental tools needed to tackle a job like this (concentration, patience and attention to detail), qualities that I lack. What I have is experience and access to every tool required.

Saying that, my worry stems from the bad experience I had with my 444; not the truck's fault. A $150 HPOP line ended up costing me over $2,000 because my pride said it would be an easy fix (should have been); lack of patience and time conspired to derail it from the start. I lost the IPR, cut one of the marmon clamps to get it off the hot side of the turbo, used the wrong o-rings (rubber instead of Vyton) and had to pull it all back apart, twisted a fuel line pulling the FPR off, and ton of other newbie mistakes. Plus, I hate having to climb and crawl in small, crowded spaces. I should have called it and just let a pro handle it. Oh, well, lesson learned.