New oil cooler and a 12 degree delta? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2012, 06:58 AM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New oil cooler and a 12 degree delta?

I have been driving the truck last week and this week after installing a new oil cooler, a egr delete, ARP headstuds, and OEM gaskets. I have been running a coolant filter and ELC for a little over a year now after doing the flush. Before all the new parts I had a 5-6 degree delta and now after the new parts and repairs I have a 12 degree delta.

On Monday I drove the truck 45 minutes down the highway ran a few errands in the next town, so the truck was defenitly warmed up. Drove the truck home on the highway with the cruise control set at 65-67mph and had the ECT at 188-190 degrees and the EOT of 200-201 degrees. The outside temperature was about 48 degrees.
Yesterday same drive with the same results, outside temperature about 55 degrees.
This morning check the insight guages for the temperatures of the EOT and ECT after sitting all night to make sure the sensors were working, the EOT was 54 degrees and the ECT was 52 degrees, and the EGT probe was 54 degrees, outside temperature about 47 this morning.

I am running 15w-40 oil that was just changed, new filter, and Rotella ELC.

What is causing the high delta after the new parts? Do I need to be worried or since everything is new I am ok? Do I need to change the thermostat, should it be running hotter? If the concentration of ELC is too high will it cause this? Is the 15w-40 oil just not getting warm in the cooler weather? Thank you for the help.

Will
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-04-2012, 07:31 AM
Serving Our Country!