Ding Sinister EGR delete, new oil cooler, turbo clean, serpentine belt - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2011, 06:09 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ding Sinister EGR delete, new oil cooler, turbo clean, serpentine belt

Got my 2005 excursion 6.0l last week, bought it used with 135k miles on it. Needed SUV capable ot pulling 9000lbs travel trailer. After 20miles the check engine light came on and Ford dealer diagnosed turbo lag/low pressure, buying with no warranty has its risks . On day 3 now of tackling this myself. This forum has been a fantastic resource to help me. I have never worked on a diesel before.
When I pulled the oil cooler I noticed that the oil screen was ripped as mentioned here as a common issue with the original set up. Just completed the new oil cooler kit installation and I have one o-ring left from the package. There were two in there and I used one inside the cooler cover. Did I miss a step some where?
I noticed the I have the older style turbo oil feed line and drain, based on some threads it seems a good idea to replace to the new version. Anybody think that is overkill?

Does anyody have any tips on removeing the passenger side exhaust pipe bolt from under the car? When I turn the nuts the bolts turn as well but I can not see what the top of the bolt is like.

Also does anybody have a you tube link or instruction for serpentine belt changeout without removing the fan?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-29-2011, 06:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Are you talking about the manifold to up pipe bolts? The top is a 10mm and the bottom is a 13mm.
Old 12-29-2011, 07:34 PM
Premium Member

Just did the Ford Oil cooler kit myself and had one extra o-ring as well.
Old 12-29-2011, 08:12 PM