05 6.0 oil temp high ? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2011, 10:31 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
05 6.0 oil temp high ?

Hi all, I'm new to the form...have been gleaning information here for about a year now since I bought my truck and finally decided to join. I've been reading about oil temp /coolant temp should not be more than 15 apart so today I hooked up my scanner to check mine. With an ambient temp of 57 my coolant temp after a 13 mile trip with no load was 183 and my eot was 242. I have purchased a egr delete kit and it would appear to me that I also need a new oil cooler before I tackle the delete kit. Just wanted any advice on the large difference in temperature that I am seeing. Thanks

Last edited by fordnhtractormd; 12-29-2011 at 10:36 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-29-2011, 10:46 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Ohh man that's bad!!!!!!!!!
Old 12-29-2011, 01:24 PM
Premium Member

Your oil cooler is clogged. With the old cooler still in, I would get rid of the gold coolant that I'm assuming is still there with a restore and restore+ flush. Then switch to an elc and get a coolant filter. Then I'd do the egr delete and replace the oil cooler. I'd also replace your thermostat. Your coolant temp seems a tad low. I just did all of the above and now my coolant temp is always 190-192 and my oil temp is 192-194. Almost never changes from that.

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
Old 12-29-2011, 01:31 PM
Serving Our Country!

The engine's computer will defuel when oil temperature reaches 253F so your oil is very close to that threshold.