New gauges - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 12-25-2011, 04:10 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Napa ca
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New gauges

I got autometer digital gauges for xmas and i noticed myboost gauge is a boost/vac gauge. Is this the right gauge? It says it only reads to 30 psi what does a 6.0 put out for boost?
cwill0829 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-25-2011, 08:09 PM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Thanks: 6
Thanked 144 Times in 135 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwill0829 View Post
I got autometer digital gauges for xmas and i noticed myboost gauge is a boost/vac gauge. Is this the right gauge? It says it only reads to 30 psi what does a 6.0 put out for boost?
I can get over 30 psi easy. You don't need the vacuum part of the gauge so I would return it and get at least a 40-45 psi gauge. You won't see that much boost but you'll know for sure what it is.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-26-2011, 09:00 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Napa ca
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thank you. Out of curiousity what application do you use a boost/vaccum gauge?
cwill0829 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 12-26-2011, 09:02 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
phantom-3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Clarence, NY
Posts: 956
Thanks: 15
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If i remember correctly Gas engines use boost vacuum because the IC of them create a vacuum as well, whereas diesel motors dont create a vacuum.

Doug do you push over 30 because of the tune? and the 03 turbo can handle it?

Dave Lenharr #213
Add me!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


New Truck!
2011 F350 CCSB Lariat, 2.5 Levelling, 5in FloPro, DPF Delete, GearHead Tow | Street | Extreme Street | Race.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


SOLD
2005 F350 CCSB 2.5 Levelled, 5in straight pipe, EGR Delete, SCT Custom Tuned by Vivian - Looney
phantom-3k is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-26-2011, 09:09 AM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Thanks: 6
Thanked 144 Times in 135 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by phantom-3k View Post
If i remember correctly Gas engines use boost vacuum because the IC of them create a vacuum as well, whereas diesel motors dont create a vacuum.

Doug do you push over 30 because of the tune? and the 03 turbo can handle it?
The tunes will allow me to hit 30+ under hard accel. or load. The turbo has held it so far but I don't doit much.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-26-2011, 11:02 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Napa ca
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks. I havent started installing yet. I got a trans temp and pyrometer also. Ive installed a pyrometer but not a trans temp. Can i just replace the factory sensor or is there a better way?
cwill0829 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-26-2011, 02:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Warren, Oregon
Posts: 1,515
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwill0829 View Post
Thanks. I havent started installing yet. I got a trans temp and pyrometer also. Ive installed a pyrometer but not a trans temp. Can i just replace the factory sensor or is there a better way?
The better way is to install gauges is to install into the OBDII port plug and play that way you have gauge temp readings you really need like ECT-EOT and the list goes on some like the Edge Insight CTS can read 8 at one time.
the Edge Insight CTS a great tool also.
Edge Inisight CTS
Lot of guys get the ScanGaugeII harder to setup but easy to install but both work great.
ScanGauge - Trip Computer + Digitial Gauges + ScanTools
2 stroker

06 F350 4x4 PSD Lariat FX4 CC LB
Edge Insight CTS Expandable Pyro
AutoMeter Fuel Pressure Gauge
Updated Fuel Reg. Kit 3C3Z-9T517-AG
Amsoil By-Pass(Amsoil 5w40)
Delo ELC Coolant
Coolant Filtration System
pulling a 14,000 lb Alpenlite 5er
97 F350 4x4 PSD CC LB
PacBrake&ATS converter lockup
3" dp 4" exhaust
TruCool 28,000 lb cooler
Tymar Intake
A piller EGT,Boost,Trans

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by 2 stroker; 12-26-2011 at 02:13 PM.
2 stroker is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-26-2011, 05:30 PM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Thanks: 6
Thanked 144 Times in 135 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwill0829 View Post
Thanks. I havent started installing yet. I got a trans temp and pyrometer also. Ive installed a pyrometer but not a trans temp. Can i just replace the factory sensor or is there a better way?
Check here
Gauge Installations at DieselManor- 2003-2007 6.0L Powerstroke


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-26-2011, 08:03 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Napa ca
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks i found that site earlier by accident and almost got them done just gotta tap the egt probe tommorrow
cwill0829 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome