New to us 6.0 Excursion - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2011, 07:42 PM
Serving Our Country!

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New to us 6.0 Excursion

So we just got the wifey a 2004 Excursion with the 6.0. It has 103K miles on the clock. Im wondering what we need to check on the thing to keep it reliable. We arent putting a tuner or anything on it. Im new to the powerstroke, I have a cummins. I just want to have the thing be reliable. It has a pyro, tranny, and boost guage. Any other guages to run? should I replace to oil cooler and egr stuff just to be safe? What should I fix to make this thing last another 100K miles?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-24-2011, 07:58 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
You need to get something to monitor ECT and EOT difference. Something like the Edge Insight CS or CTS. You want the temp. difference to be 15 degrees or less. Do a complete cooling system flush with Restore and Restore+ and refill the cooling system with an ELC coolant with an EC-1 rating. Install a coolant filter. Be prepared to replace the oil cooler after the flush if the ECT and EOT temp. difference gets above 15*. Flushing the system sometimes causes the oil cooler to become restricted. Would also switch the oil from a 15w40 to a 5w40 synthetic. I use Rotella T6 5w40. Only use Motor Craft or Racor oil and fuel filters and keep the stock intake.
Old 12-24-2011, 08:08 PM
War is the answer!

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
You need to skim the threads and read the stickies.
Old 12-24-2011, 09:14 PM
NOT a Democrat

Send a message via AIM to Galaxie
Thanks for serving man - Awesome!

What you need to do:
1. Gauges - EGT, EOT, ECT, Trans temp most important
2. Coolant flush change over to ELC coolant
3. Coolant filter
4. Check your FICM volts